Rugby World CupRugby

Rugby World Cup 2023 Referees List

Rugby World Cup 2023 Referees List

The referees have ensured the game’s rules are upheld with supreme integrity. World Rugby has revealed the referees’ panel for the group stage matches for Rugby World Cup 2023. The seven Assistants, seven TOMs, and twelve other referees are selected for the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

Nika Amashukeli from Georgia and four referees from the Premiership Rugby are among the 12 referees. But what makes this event historic is including a female official in the match officials group, a crucial moment in Rugby World Cup history.

Rugby World Cup 2023 Referees List

Referees Country
Nic Berry Australia
Luke Pearce England
Jaco Peyper South Africa
Ben O’Keeffe New Zealand
Karl Dickson England
Wayne Barnes England
Andrew Brace Ireland
Paul Williams New Zealand
Angus Gardner Australia
Matthew Carley England
Mathieu Raynal France
Nika Amashukeli Georgia

Assistant Referees

While referees take center stage, the assistant referees play an equally critical role in the game. This World Cup boasts a lineup of assistant referees, including Chris Busby, Pierre Brousset, James Doleman, etc.

Referees Country
Craig Evans Wales
Chris Busby Ireland
Jordan Way Australia
Andrea Piardi Italy
Pierre Brousset France
James Doleman New Zealand
Christophe Ridley England

Television Match Officials (TMOs)

In this era where technology plays a vital role in sports, the role of Television Match Officials (TMOs) cannot be overlooked. The RWC 2023 will see a team of experienced TMOs, including Brett Cronan, Tom Foley, Marius Jonker, etc.

Country Referees
England Tom Foley
Ireland Joy Neville
Australia Brett Cronan
South Africa Marius Jonker
Ireland Brian MacNeice
Wales Ben Whitehouse
New Zealand Brendon Pickerill

Read More: Rugby Referees Salaries

Previous RWC Final Referees

Country Referee Year
France Jérôme Garcès 2019
Wales Nigel Owens 2015
South Africa Craig Joubert 2011
Ireland Alain Rolland 2007
South Africa André Watson 2003
South Africa André Watson 1999
England Ed Morrison 1995
Wales Derek Bevan 1991
Australia Kerry Fitzgerald 1987

Read More: Rugby World Cup Winners List

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply