ListFIFA World CupFootball

FIFA World Cup Hosts List From 1930 to 2034

FIFA World Cup Hosts List From 1930 to 2034

Since 1930, there have been twenty-one FIFA tournaments, and fifteen countries have hosted them. At first, the organization chose which countries would host meetings of FIFA’s congress. In the early tournaments, deciding where FIFA would hold it was hard because it took three weeks by boat to get from South America to Europe, where the best football teams were.

Only four European countries participated in the first World Cup in Uruguay. Europe was the site of the following two World Cups. The second of these was the 1938 FIFA World Cup in France.

It was a controversial choice because FIFA had told the South American countries that the World Cup would move between the two continents.

Argentina and Uruguay skipped the tournament because of this. Three teams dropped out of the first tournament after World War II, held in Brazil in 1950, because they had money problems or didn’t agree with how FIFA ran the tournament. 

Beginning of Switching Across the Globe

To avoid boycotts or other problems in the future, FIFA started switching between the Americas and Europe. It continued until the 2002 FIFA World Cup, which was held in Asia. The system changed over time, and now FIFA’s Congress votes on which country will host. A complete ballot system is used to do this. At the moment, the decision is made about seven years before the tournament. But, at the same time, FIFA chose the hosts for the 2018 and 2022 tournaments.

If the bid from Canada, Mexico, and the United States for the 2026 FIFA World Cup is chosen, it will be the first time the tournament has been held in more than two countries. If Estadio Azteca is selected, it will be the first stadium to host three World Cups.

FIFA World Cup Hosts List From 1930 to 2034

Year Hosts
1930 Uruguay
1934 Italy
1938 France
1942 Cancelled because of World War II
1946 Cancelled because of World War II
1950 Brazil
1954 Switzerland
1958 Sweden
1962 Chile
1966 England
1970 Mexico
1974 West Germany
1978 Argentina
1982 Spain
1986 Mexico
1990 Italy
1994 United States
1998 France
2002 Japan & South Korea
2006 Germany
2010 South Africa
2014 Brazil
2018 Russia
2022 Qatar
2026 Canada, the US, Mexico


Countries List Which Hosts the World Cup

Below, we have described the countries that host the World Cup. The list is arranged from Z to A.

  • West Germany
  • Uruguay
  • United States
  • Switzerland
  • Sweden
  • Spain
  • South Korea
  • South Africa
  • Russia
  • Qatar
  • Mexico
  • Japan
  • Italy
  • Germany
  • France
  • England
  • Chile
  • Brazil
  • Argentina

Which Nation Has Hosted the World Cup the Most Times?

Mexico, Italy, and Brazil have all twice hosted the World Cup.

Country Year Times
West Germany 1974 1
Uruguay 1930 1
United States 1994 1
Switzerland 1954 1
Sweden 1958 1
Spain 1982 1
South Korea 2002 1
South Africa 2010 1
Russia 2018 1
Qatar 2022 1
Mexico 1970, 1986 2
Japan 2002 1
Italy 1934, 1990 2
Germany 2006 1
France 1938 1
England 1966 1
Chile 1962 1
Brazil 1950, 2014 2
Argentina 1978 1

Qatar Hosts FIFA World Cup 2022 

South America and Europe could not bid for the 2022 World Cup. Also, FIFA officially allowed joint bids again (after banning them in 2002) because there was only one organizing committee for each joint bid, unlike Korea & Japan, which had two different organizing committees.

FIFA announced that Qatar, the 18th nation that will hold the World Cup, was named the host nation for the 2022 edition on December 2, 2010. The World Cup in Qatar will be the third event not to occur in either Europe or the American continent.

FIFA World Cup 2026 Hosts

FIFA World Cup 2026

As of 2016, FIFA rules said that the 2026 Cup couldn’t be in Europe (UEFA) or Asia (AFC). It meant that either Africa (CAF), North America (CONCACAF), South America (CONMEBOL), or Oceania (OFC) could put in a bid. In March 2017, FIFA’s president, Gianni Infantino, confirmed that “Europe (UEFA) and Asia (AFC) had been cut from the bidding after Russia and Qatar were chosen for 2018 and 2022.

Read More: FIFA World Cup Trophy

The host was announced at the 68th FIFA Congress in Moscow, Russia, on June 13, 2018. The FIFA World Cup 2026 host nations will be Canada, the USA, and Mexico.

2030 FIFA World Cup

On January 15, 2019, FIFA President Gianni Infantino backed Morocco, Portugal, and Spain’s bids to host the 2030 World Cup. It was bad news for England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales, even though it was still “very early” to discuss it.

2034 FIFA World Cup

Chile’s bid to host was confirmed by the group on February 14, 2019, in a joint statement from Chile, Argentina, Paraguay, and Uruguay.

Read More: FIFA World Cup History

Plan to Bid for Sure

Uruguay, Argentina, Chile, and Paraguay are all members of CONMEBOL. Uruguay, Argentina, Chile, and Paraguay want to host the 2030 FIFA World Cup.

CAF: Morocco (pending on Algeria, Algeria, and Tunisia Tunisia): Morocco 2030 The FIFA World Cup bid.

UEFA: Portugal / Spain: Spain–Portugal 2030 FIFA World Cup bid Greece / Bulgaria / Serbia / Romania: Bulgaria–Greece–Romania–Serbia 2030 FIFA World Cup bid said they wanted to bid.

2034 FIFA World Cup

But in June 2018, Tengku Abdullah, a member of FIFA’s executive committee, Pahang’s crown prince and regent, and the former Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) president, said he was interested in the three countries hosting the World Cup together.

2034 FIFA World Cup

During the AFC Asian Cup 2007, the four countries held a football event. If the FAM agrees to come back to the project, it would be the first time that four countries worked together to put in a bid for the FIFA World Cup.

Egypt makes the second offer. Ashraf Sobhy, Egypt’s Minister of Sports and Youth, said that the country has considered bidding to host the 2034 FIFA World Cup. Instead of the country, the National Football Association should create a proposal like this.

After its bid to host the 2022 FIFA World Cup failed, Australia has considered making a joint bid with OFC member New Zealand.

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply