FIFA World CupFootball

FIFA World Cup History

fifa world cup history

FIFA World Cup History

On May 21, 1904, the Federation International Football Association (FIFA) was founded in the back of the Union of French Athletic Sports (USFSA) headquarters at 229 rue Saint-Honoré in Paris. And the French acronym is used even in places where people don’t speak French.

The first countries to join were Denmark, Belgium, France, the Netherlands, Spain (represented by its football club at the time since the Royal Spanish Football Federation didn’t start until 1913), Sweden, and Switzerland. Also, the German Football Association (DFB) said it would join a telegram on the same day

New Beginnings

Robert Guérin was the first person to lead FIFA World Cup history. Daniel Burley Woolfall, from England and a member of the association then, took over for Guérin in 1906. The 1908 Olympic Games Association football competition in London was the first FIFA Men’s World Cup history. It was more successful than its Olympic predecessors, even though it included professional football players, which goes against FIFA’s founding principles. 

Read More: FIFA World Cup Trophy History

South Africa joined FIFA in 1909, Argentina in 1912, Canada and Chile in 1913, and the United States in 1914. Before that, only countries in Europe could join FIFA. The 1912 Spalding Sports Library’s “Official Guide” has information about the 1912 Olympic Games (scores and stories), AAFA, and FIFA. Dan B. Woolfall was the head of FIFA in 1912. From 1906 to 1918, Daniel Burley Woolfall was the country’s leader. 

First World War and FIFA

During the First World War, FIFA sent many players to war, and international travel was challenging because of the war. It made it hard for the organization to keep going. After the war, when Woolfall died, the group was run by a Dutchman named Carl Hirschmann.

It was saved from extinction, but its home country, the United Kingdom, pulled out of international competitions because it didn’t want to compete with its former enemies from the World War. Later, the countries in the house got back to being members.

The National Football Museum from Urbis in Manchester, England, owns the FIFA collection. 1930 FIFA held the first men’s World Cup in Montevideo, Uruguay. 

Governance and Laws

FIFA’s main office is in Zürich, and it is a group that was set up under Swiss law. The FIFA Congress is the highest body in FIFA. It is made up of representatives from each member association.

Every national football association has one vote, no matter how big or good it is at football. Congress meets yearly for a regular session; since 1998, an extra session has been held. Congress makes decisions about FIFA’s governing rules and how they will be implemented and used.

Read More: FIFA World Cup Winners List

Congress is the only regulatory body that can change FIFA’s regulations. Congress approves the annual report, decides whether to accept new national associations and holds elections. After the FIFA World Cup, Congress chooses its general secretary, the President of FIFA, and the other members of the FIFA Council. 

FIFA Council

FIFA Council, which used to be called the FIFA Executive Committee and is led by the president, is the organization’s main decision-making body when Congress isn’t going on.

The council comprises 37 people, including the president, eight vice presidents, and at least one woman from each confederation. The executive committee chooses the country that will host the World Cup.

The president and the general secretary are essential in FIFA World Cup history. They are in charge of the daily running of the organization, which is done by the general secretariat, which has about 280 employees.

Gianni Infantino is the current president. He was chosen at an extra session of the FIFA Congress on February 26, 2016, after the previous president, Sepp Blatter, was suspended while a corruption investigation was going on.


There are also several other bodies in FIFA’s worldwide organization. These bodies are controlled by the FIFA Council or made by Congress as standing committees. The FIFA Emergency Committee, the FIFA Ethics Committee, the Finance Committee, the Disciplinary Committee, and the Referees Committee are all examples of these groups.

Read More: FIFA World Cup Schedule

In the time between meetings of the FIFA Council, when problems need to be fixed right away, the FIFA Emergency Committee takes care of them.

The FIFA president and one person from each confederation are on the Emergency Committee. Decisions made by the Emergency Committee go into effect immediately, but they need to be approved at the start of the next meeting of the Executive Committee. 

Cost of Administration

International Financial Reporting Standards tell FIFA how to report its results. In 2011, 35 people were on the management committee and paid a total of $30 million. Blatter was the only person on the committee who worked full-time. He made about two million Swiss francs, 1.2 million of which came from his salary and the rest from bonuses.

In June 2014, London’s The Sunday Times said that FIFA had raised the committee members’ wages from $100k to $200k. Leaked documents also showed that the committee members got $4.4 million in secret bonuses after the FIFA World Cup 2010, the report said. 

Read More: FIFA World Cup Prize Money


This article briefly describes FIFA World Cup history and FIFA Men’s World Cup history. And about committee and council. Briefly about laws and administrative costs. If you are interested in knowing authentic more about FIFA, follow us.

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply