Women’s Big Bash League Winners List From 2015 to 2023

wbbl winners list

Eight city-based teams compete in the Women’s Big Bash tournament, substituting the Australian Women’s Twenty20 Cup competition from 2007-08 to the 2014-15 season.

In 2023, the WBBL will be in its ninth season. The T20 competition had its debut season in 2015 and has gained interest from all over the world. The Women’s Big Bash League’s 8th edition started on October 13 and ends on November 20.

WBBL Winners List From 2015 to 2023

Year Winner Runner-Ups
2023-24 Adelaide Strikers Brisbane Heat
2022–23 Adelaide Strikers Sydney Sixers
2021–22 Perth Scorchers Adelaide Strikers
2020–21 Sydney Thunder Melbourne Stars
2019–20 Brisbane Heat Adelaide Strikers
2018–19 Brisbane Heat Sydney Sixers
2017–18 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers
2016–17 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers
2015–16 Sydney Thunder Sydney Sixers

WBBL 2023-24 Winners

The Adelaide Strikers won the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) 2023, defeating the Brisbane Heat by 3 runs in the final match. This win marked their second consecutive championship title.

WBBL 2022-23 Winners

WBBL 2022-23 Winners

The Adelaide Strikers won the recent WBBL tournament after beating the Sydney Sixers. Strikers scored 147 runs in the final match by losing five wickets.

But Sydney Sixers made 137 runs in 20 overs by losing all their wickets. The Player of the Match award was won by Deandra Dottin, who scored 52 runs on 37 balls on not out.

2021-22 Women’s Big Bash Winners

The final 2021-22 edition match was played between the Perth Scorchers against Adelaide Strikers. Perth Scorchers bat first and scored 146 runs by losing five wickets in 20 overs. Adelaide Strikers’ poor batting performance scored 134 runs in 20 overs by losing six wickets.

You Also Like – BBL Schedule 2023-24

2020-21 WBBL Winners

WBBL 2020-21 Winners

In 2020-21, the Women’s Sydney Thunder team, who won in the first WBBL Edition, won a second championship this year. They chased down the easy score of 87 runs in 13.4 overs and beat Melbourne Stars with seven wickets. Sammy-Jo Johnson took the most wickets, and Beth Mooney scored the most runs this season.

Women’s Big Bash League Winners 2019-20

Brisbane Heat defeated Adelaide Strikers by a score of 6 wickets in the final game to win their 2nd straight championship. They completed the 162-run goal with 11 balls remaining. In this tournament, Molly Strano had become the most wickets taker.

WBBL Winners List 2018-19

In 2018–19, the Sydney Sixers made it to the final game four times in a row. Batting first, Sydney Sixers scored 131 runs in 20 overs by losing seven wickets.

Brisbane Heat achieved the score in 19.2 overs by losing seven wickets and captured their first championship. Beth Mooney played amazingly, scored 65 runs on 46 balls, and helped his team win the match and become the Player of the game.

You Also Like – BBL Winners List

2017-18 Women’s Big Bash League Winners

The Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers squared off in the championship game in 2017-18. The Scorchers, who were batting first, were shut out over 99 runs. The Sixers scored the needed runs in 15 overs with nine wickets in hand. Alyssa Healy once again led the way with 41 runs on 32 balls.

2016-17 WBBL Winners 

The Sydney Sixers’ unbeaten run began this year. They faced the Perth Scorchers in their match. Batting first, the Scorchers made 117 runs by losing the seven wickets, which the Women’s Sixers team quickly chased. For the Sixers, Alyssa Healy grabbed 40 runs within only 27 balls.

Women’s Big Bash League Winners 2015-16

Women’s Big Bash League Winners 2015-1 6

The women’s Sydney Thunder team defeated Sydney Sixers to win the game. Sydney Sixers achieved 115 runs in their opening innings while losing five wickets.

With three balls left, Sydney Thunder finished the desired score. The Player of the match was Erin Osborne from the losing side, who won for her outstanding bowling effort.

You Also Like – Highest Paid BBL Players in 2023-24

Most Times WBBL Winners

Team No. of Wins
Sydney Sixers Two times 
Sydney Thunder Two times 
Brisbane Heat Two times 
Perth Scorchers One time 
Adelaide Strikers One time
Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply