BBL Winners List From 2011 to 2024

BBL Winners List

The Australian Cricket Board launched the Big Bash League (BBL), a T20 cricket league in 2011. This competition features eight franchise teams from different cities.

In its ten editions, the BBL has had six different champions, with the Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers winning three of those championships.

The former champion is now the Perth Scorchers. Let’s check the BBL Winners list, which team has won the BBL more than once.

BBL Winners List From 2011 to 2024

Year Winner Runner Up
2023-24 TBC TBC
2022-23 Perth Scorchers Brisbane Heat
2011-12 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers
2012-13 Brisbane Heat Perth Scorchers
2013-14 Perth Scorchers Hobart Hurricanes
2014-15 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers
2015-16 Sydney Thunder Melbourne Stars
2016-17 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers
2017-18 Adelaide Strikers Hobart Hurricanes
2018-19 Melbourne Renegades Melbourne Stars
2019-20 Sydney Sixers Melbourne Stars
2020-21 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers
2021-22 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers

Most of the time, the BBL Winners

The most successful team in BBL is Perth Scorchers; they won the title 4 times. The 2nd successful team is Sydney Sixers, who three times became the champion of Big Bash. The other four teams have won the Big Bash title one time.

Team Wins
Perth Scorchers 5 Times
Sydney Sixers 3 Times
Brisbane Heat 1 Time
Melbourne Renegades 1 Time
Adelaide Strikers 1 Time
Sydney Thunder 1 Time

BBL Winners 2022-23

The Perth Scorchers have won the Big Bash League 2022-23 season after defeating the Brisbane Heat in the final game.

Brisbane Heat bats first and scored 175 runs in 20 overs with the loss of 7 wickets after Perth Scorchers completed the score in the final over by losing five wickets.

Winner of Big Bash 2021-22

Perth Scorchers won the Big Bash’s 2021-22 edition after beating Sydney Sixers in the final match. By batting first, Perth Scorchers made 171 runs and bowled out the South Sydney Sixers for just 92 to win the game by 79 runs.

Title Winner of BBL 2020-21

The Sixers won the Big Bash League 2020–21 Sydney. It was the Sydney Sixers’ 3rd BBL championship. With a 27-run victory over Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers captured their championship. Moises Henriques, the captain of the Sixers club, won his second BBL championship.

Winner BBL 2019-20

In BBL 2019–20, the Sydney Sixers won their second BBL championship. In the championship game, they defeated Melbourne Stars by 19 runs. Moises Henriques served as the team’s leader.

Big Bash League 2018-19 Winner

Melbourne Renegades won the BBL for the 2018–19 season. In the championship game, Melbourne Renegade defeated Melbourne Stars by 13 runs. Melbourne Renegades’ captain was Aaron Finch.

Winner of BBL 2017-18

The Adelaide Strikers squad defeated the Hobart Hurricanes team to win the BBL 2017–18 season. It was Adelaide Strikers’ second championship. Adelaide Strikers’ captain was Travis Head.

Champion of BBL 2016-17

The Perth Scorchers won their third championship in the 2016–17 BBL. In the championship match, they defeated Sydney Sixers by nine wickets. With his 3/30 in 4 overs, Jhye Richardson was named the game’s MVP.

Big Bash League 2015-16 Champion

Sydney Thunder won the BBL championship for the 2015–16 edition. Melbourne Stars and Sydney Thunder competed in the final match. Mike Hussey led the Sydney Thunder as captain. Because of his 70 runs in 40 balls in the finals, Usman Khawaja was named Player of the match.

BBL Winner 2014-15

In BBL 2014–15, the Perth Scorchers won their second championship. In the BBL final match, they defeated the Sydney Sixers. In the 2014–15 Big Bash League, Adam Voges was the Perth team’s captain. Shaun Marsh was named Player of the match with 73 runs in 59 balls in the final game.

2013-14 BBL Winner

The Perth Scorchers won the Big Bash League 2013-14. In the BBL 2013–14, Brad Hogg became the Player of the match in the final for his 2/17 in 4 overs. While Simon Katich served as the captain of the Perth Scorchers. The Hobart Hurricanes came in second place.

Read More: BBL Rules & Regulations

Big Bash League Winner 2012-13

Brisbane Heat and Perth Scorchers played in the BBL Final of the second season in Perth. Brisbane Heat won the match and the 2nd BBL championship. Chris Hartley led the Brisbane team as a captain. In BBL 2012–13, the Perth Scorchers team became the runner-up.

BBL 2011-12 Winner

Sydney Sixers won the Big Bash’s first season. Steven Smith served as the team’s captain, and Moises Henriques scored 70 runs in the final match to earn the Player of the Game award. Perth Scorchers become the runner-up this season. In the 2011–12 BBL, Marcus North led the Perth Scorchers as their captain.

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply