Tamil Nadu Premier League Winners List From 2016 to 2024

Tamil Nadu Premier League Winners List

The Tamil Nadu Premier League is one of India’s largest intra-state T20 tournaments. The TNPL has been contested yearly since 2016, except in 2020, due to the COVID-19 epidemic, and is now in its 7th edition.

With three victories in 2017, 2019, and 2021, Chepauk Super Gillies is at the top of the Tamil Nadu Premier League winners list. Let’s look at the opponent’s winner overcome to obtain the desired title.

Tamil Nadu Premier League Winners List

Year Winners Runners Up Won By
2023 Kovai Kings Nellai Royal Kings 104 Runs
2022 Lyca Kovai Kings & Chepauk Super Gillies No Result
2021 Chepauk Super Gillies Ruby Trichy Warriors By eight runs
2019 Chepauk Super Gillies Dindigul Dragons By 12 runs
2018 Siechem Madurai Panthers Dindigul Dragons By 7 wickets
2017 Chepauk Super Gillies Tuti Patriots By 6 wickets
2016 Tuti Patriots Chepauk Super Gillies By 122 runs

2023 TNPL Winners

The Tamil Nadu Premier League 2023 final match was played between the Kovai Kings and Nellai Royal Kings at the Indian Cement Company Ground. By batting first, Kovai Kings set a big target of 205 runs in 20 overs by losing five wickets.

In the 2nd inning, Nellai Royal Kings batsmen didn’t perform well, and all batters out on the 101 scored. So, Kovai Kings won their second TNPL trophy this year.

2022 TNPL Winners

The Chepauk Super Gillies was the reigning winner after capturing their 3rd championship the season before. The final game between Lyca Kovai Kings and Chepauk Super Gillies was postponed owing to rain and concluded in a tie, making both teams co-winners.

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2021 Winners

In the 2021 TNPL final match, Chepauk Super Gillies defeated Ruby Trichy Warriors by 12 runs to successfully defend their Tamil Nadu Premier League title.

Chepauk Super Gillies winners 2022

CSG bat first to score 183 runs in the 20 overs with the loss of 6 wickets. RTW makes 65 runs scored in the powerplay. RTW’s run chase got off to a better start than CSG’.

But Ruby Trichy Warriors could only make 175/7 in 20 overs due to wickets falling in every over, So CSG Won their 3rd championship title, and RTW became the runners-up.

You Also Like the IPL Winners List

TNPL Winner 2019

Chepauk Super Gillies, who finished last in the 2018 season, made a comeback in the 2019 edition, played in the Tamil Nadu Premier League final, and faced the Dindigul Dragons.

CSG targeted a final total of 126/8 in their given 20 overs. In response, Chepauk’s Ganeshan Periyaswamy’s effort with a five-wicket haul (5/15) dropped the Dragons to 114/9 in 20 overs. CSG won its second championship.

2018 Tamil Nadu Premier League Winners

The 2018 season’s Madurai Panthers & Dindigul Dragons, who finished tied for the first spot in the league round, faced off in the championship game at the MA Chidambaram Stadium.

The Panthers bowled first after winning the toss and dismissed the Dindigul Dragons for 117 runs.

The team was afraid when they stepped out to bat because the opposition’s M Silambarasan took three wickets in the first over for only two runs.

On the other hand, the Panthers could hold their position and win their first and only championship to date.

2017 TNPL Champion

Chepauk Super Gillies took revenge on Tuti Patriots in the 2017 TNPL final by defeating them by a margin of six wickets after facing a demoralizing defeat the previous year.

You Also Like the PSL Winners List

Chepauk Super Gillies, when allowed to bowl, held Tuti Patriots to 143/8 in 20 overs. CSG scored 145/4 in 19 overs to win the game.

Tamil Nadu Premier League Winners 2016

The third-placed Tuti Patriots dominated Chepauk Super Gillies in the TNPL championship match. The team led by Dinesh Karthik scored 215/2 after choosing to bat first. Chepauk Super Gillies’ response saw them bowled out for 93.

Most Time TNPL Winners List

The most successful team in the TNPL is the current champion, Chepauk Super Gillies, who has won the championship four times in six seasons. The other three sides that have previously won the Tamil Nadu Premier League are the Tuti Patriots, Lyca Kovai Kings& Siechem Madurai Panthers.

Team Wins
Chepauk Super Gillies 4
Lyca Kovai Kings 2
Siechem Madurai Panthers 1
Tuti Patriots 1

You Also Like – Super Smash Winners List

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply