All Seasons PSL Winners List From 2016 to 2024

psl winners list

The PCB organizes and oversees the domestic franchise league cricket competition known as the Pakistan Super League. The Pakistan Cricket Board confirmed the PSL on 9 September 2015, with 5 clubs.

The PSL was staged in the United Arab Emirates when it first began in 2016 following several years of planning and two prior failed efforts. Sheikh Nahyan bin Mubarak Al Nahyan and Bakhtawar Bhutto-Zardari, the daughter of Mr. Asif Zardari, opened the ceremony.

Islamabad United & Lahore Qalandars have won the PSL title twice, making them the teams with the most titles out of all previous winners. The tournament has been won once each by Peshawar Zalmi, Karachi Kings, Multan Sultans, and Quetta Gladiators. 

PSL Winners & Captains

Year Team Captain
2024 Islamabad United Shadab Khan
2022 & 2023 Lahore Qalandars Shaheen Afridi
2021 Multan Sultans Mohammad Rizwan
2020 Karachi Kings Imad Wasim
2019 Quetta Gladiators Sarfaraz Ahmed
2018 Islamabad United Shadab Khan
2017 Peshawar Zalmi Darren Sammy
2016 Quetta Gladiators Sarfaraz Ahmed

PSL Winners List & Runners-Up

Now, the PSL’s most successful team is Islamabad United & Lahore Qalandars. They first won the championship’s first edition in 2016, and then they won it again in 2018. Misbah Ul Haq, one of the best batsmen to have come out of Pakistan, led his team to both of these victories. 

While Lahore Qalandars have 2 consecutive titles in 2022 and 2023 under the captaincy of young fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Year Winner Runner-up
2024 Islamabad United Multan Sultans
2023 Lahore Qalandars Multan Sultans
2022 Lahore Qalandars Multan Sultans
2021 Multan Sultans Peshawar Zalmi
2020 Karachi Kings Lahore Qalandars
2019 Quetta Gladiators Peshawar Zalmi
2018 Islamabad United Peshawar Zalmi
2017 Peshawar Zalmi Quetta Gladiators
2016 Quetta Gladiators Peshawar Zalmi

PSL Winner 2024

Islamabad United emerged victorious in the 2024 Pakistan Super League, defeating Multan Sultans in a final by just 2 wickets. This win secured their third PSL title, making them the first franchise to achieve this feat.

PSL 2024 Winner

PSL Winner 2023

In PSL 2023 final match was once again played between Lahore and Multan. By batting first Lahore made a target of 200 runs in 20 overs by falling six wickets.

In the 2nd inning, Multan Sultans batsmen showed their full spirit but unfortunately, they lost it on the last ball by just 1 run. This is the 2nd consecutive victory of Lahore Qalandar against Multan Sultans in the final PSL match.

PSL Winner 2022

The Pakistan Super League 2022 was won by the Lahore Qalandars after defeating the Multan Sultans. By batting first Lahore scored 180 runs in 20 overs by losing 5 wickets.

In the 2nd inning, Multan Sultans batsmen do not show their magic. Sultans only scored 138 runs and their all team was out in 19 overs.

PSL Winner 2021

The PSL 2021 season was won by the Multan Sultans after beating Islamabad in the final match. In the first inning, Multans made 206 runs by losing 4 wickets in 20 overs.

After this Islamabad batsmen’s fate was not good they only scored 159 runs by losing 9 wickets. Sohaib Maqsood becomes the player of the match.

PSL Winner 2020

In 2020 Pakistan Super League final match was played between Lahore vs Karachi at the National Stadium. In the first inning, Lahore scored 134 runs by losing 7 wickets.

After Karachi Kings chased the target in the 19 overs by losing five wickets. So, Karachi Kings won the PSL 2020 by 5 wickets.

PSL Winner 2019

Quetta Gladiators won the PSL 2019 season by 8 wickets after beating Peshawar Zalmi. By batting first Peshawar Zalmi scored 138 runs in 20 overs by failing eight wickets.

In the 2nd inning, Quetta’s opening batsmen showed their magic and chased the score in 18 overs. Mohammad Hasnain becomes the player of the match.

PSL Winner 2018

The PSL 2018 final match was held between Peshawar vs Islamabad at the National Stadium. By batting first Zalmi made 148 runs by falling 8 wickets. After this inning,

Islamabad batsmen showed great performance and chased the target in the 17 overs. So, Islamabad won the match by 3 wickets and registered their 2nd championship in PSL.

PSL Winner 2017

The Pakistan Super League 2017 edition was won by Peshawar after defeating Quetta. The final match took place between the Zalmi vs Gladiators at Gaddafi Stadium. Peshawar bat first and made a target of 148 runs in 20 overs.

In the 2nd inning, Quetta batsmen only scored 90 runs, and their team was out in 17 overs. So Peshawar Zalmi won their first PSL title by 58 runs.

PSL Winner 2016

The final match of the Pakistan Super League 2016 was played by Quetta vs Islamabad. By batting first, Quetta gives a big target of 174 runs in 20 overs by losing 7 wickets.

In the 2nd inning, Islamabad scored 175 runs in 19 overs by losing four wickets. So Islamabad won their first PSL title after defeating Quetta.

Most PSL Titles Winners

Team Titles Won 
Islamabad United 2
Lahore Qalandars 2
Quetta Gladiators 2
Peshawar Zalmi 1
Karachi Kings 1
Multan Sultans 1

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply