FIH Hockey World CupHockey

FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 Qualifiers

FIH Men's Hockey World Cup 2023 Qualifiers

The FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 would feature 16 nations in total and will be hosted in Odisha, India. Whereas Canada & Ireland had missed the previous event. Chile & Wales will be competing in the world meet for the first time. The 16 teams are split up into 4 pools, each of which has 4 teams in it.

Pool Teams
Pool A Argentina, Australia, South Africa, France
Pool B South Korea, Belgium, Japan, Germany
Pool C Malaysia, New Zealand, Netherlands, Chile
Pool D Wales, India, England, Spain

You Also Like: Hockey World Cup Points Table

List of Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 Qualifiers

Teams Qualified From
India Qualified As Host
Australia & New Zealand Oceania Cup 2022
Japan, Malaysia Asia Cup 2022
Argentina Pan American Cup 2022
South Korea African Cup of Nations 2022
Wales, France European Qualifier 2021
Spain, Belgium, England,  Netherlands, Germany EuroHockey Championships 2021

All nations qualified by competing in their particular continental tournaments except India. India registered for the Men’s 2023 Hockey World Cup as the host nation.

Oceania Cup 2022

Oceania Cup was not conducted in 2022. As a result, Australia and New Zealand, the top two teams in their respective federations, were given the places.

Hockey Asia Cup 2022

Three nations Japan, South Korea, and Malaysia finished first through third, with South Korea winning the competition by beating Malaysia. India took third place but India was already qualified as a host. Japan took fourth place so they were added to the Hockey World Cup 2023 Qualifiers list.

You Also Like: 2023 Hockey World Cup Tickets 

Pan American Cup 2022

Argentina defeated Chile in the final match to win their fourth championship, and both teams went to the World Cup. Seven teams competed for the remaining two berths in total.

African Cup of Nations 2022

Nigeria finished in 3rd position, and South Africa claimed the top position by beating Egypt in the finals.

European Qualifier 2021

Wales & France qualified for the Tournament after making it to the European Challenger finals. The competition included 8 nations in total, with Wales defeating France in the final match.

EuroHockey Championships 2021

By placing in the top 5, the Netherlands, Spain, England, Belgium, & Germany earned spots in the Hockey World Cup 2023. In the finals, the Dutch defeated Germany to win the title, with Belgium taking 3rd place.

You Also Like: Hockey World Cup Prize Money

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply