FIFA Women's World CupFootball

FIFA Women’s World Cup Golden Boot Winners From 1991 to 2023

FIFA Women's World Cup Golden Boot Winners

The Women’s World Cup has become one of the most famous sporting events as Female soccer continues to gain fame. This tournament serves as a platform for extraordinary talent to shine.

In this article, we will explore the history of the FIFA Women’s World Cup Golden Boot Award and analyze the players who have won this award.

The reputable Golden Boot honor is given to the top goal scorer in the competition. The Golden Boot was initially named Golden Shoe in the Women’s World Cup 1991. But was later renamed Golden Boot in 2011.

If players have equal goals, the player with the most assists is favored, as determined by the FIFA Technical Study Group.

If the equal persists, the award is granted to the player with the least playing time, signifying the highest goals-per-minute ratio.

Additionally, the 2nd and 3rd top goal scorers are honored with the Silver and Bronze Boots, showing their outstanding contributions to the competition.

FIFA Women’s World Cup Golden Boot Winners

Let’s journey through history and explore the remarkable players who have secured the Golden Boot Award in previous FIFA Women’s World Cup editions.

Year Golden Boot Silver Boot Bronze Boot
2023 Hinata Miyazawa Kadidiatou Diani Alexandra Popp
2019 Megan Rapinoe Alex Morgan Ellen White
2015 Célia Šašić Carli Lloyd Anja Mittag
2011 Homare Sawa Marta Abby Wambach
2007 Marta Abby Wambach Ragnhild Gulbrandsen
2003 Birgit Prinz Maren Meinert Kátia
1999 Sissi, Sun Wen Ann Kristin Aarønes
1995 Ann Kristin Aarønes Hege Riise Shi Guihong
1991 Michelle Akers Heidi Mohr Carin Jennings, Linda Medalen 

Megan Rapinoe | 2019

Megan Rapinoe, the charming American forward, left a fantastic mark on the Women’s World Cup 2019. Her incredible performances and six goals helped her earn the Golden Boot Award. And have contributed significantly role in the USA’s title defense.

Also Read: Women’s World Cup Golden Glove Winners

Celia Sasic | 2015

Celia Sasic, representing Germany, significantly impacted the 2015 Women’s World Cup. With six goals to her credit, Sasic won the Golden Boot and played a vital role in leading Germany to the semifinals.

Homare Sawa | 2011

In the Women’s World Cup 2011, Homare Sawa of Japan received the Golden Boot. Sawa’s five goals helped Japan secure their first-ever World Cup title, making it a historic moment for Japanese football.

Marta | 2007

Marta, the iconic Brazilian forward, won the Golden Boot in the 2007 Women’s World Cup by scoring seven goals. She captivated audiences with her mesmerizing dribbling and goal-scoring prowess.

Birgit Prinz | 2003

Birgit Prinz, the German footballer, clinched the Golden Boot in the 2003 Women’s World Cup. With seven goals to her name, Prinz showcased her extraordinary skills and played a vital role in Germany’s triumph.

Also Read: FIFA World Cup Golden Glove Winners

Sissi | 1999

Sissi, the Brazilian forward, was awarded the Golden Boot in the 1999 Women’s World Cup. Her five goals & outstanding performances and propelled Brazil to the final, where they narrowly missed the final championship.

Ann Kristin Aarones | 1995

In the 1995 Women’s World Cup, Ann Kristin Aarones of Norway secured the Golden Boot by netting six goals. Her fantastic finishing and offensive prowess were useful in Norway’s success in the tournament.

Michelle Akers | 1991

In the inaugural Women’s World Cup held in 1991, Michelle Akers, representing the United States, emerged as the tournament’s top goal scorer. Akers showcased her exceptional skills, scoring an impressive ten goals, and played a pivotal role in leading her team to victory.

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply