FIFA Women's World CupFootball

FIFA Women’s World Cup Golden Ball Winners From 1991 to 2023

FIFA Women's World Cup Golden ball Winners

The Women’s World Cup is a highly anticipated global event showcasing the talent and skill of female football. This competition not only determines the best teams but also recognizes the individual achievements of the best players.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup Golden Ball holds a special place among the various awards presented. This article will analyze its winners from the first edition to now.

The Golden Ball Award holds great significance in the FIFA World Cup. It is bestowed upon the tournament’s best player, chosen through a meticulous process. The FIFA technical committee shortlists players, and media representatives cast their votes to determine the winner.

The player who receives the most votes is honored with the Golden Ball, symbolizing their performance and impact on the tournament. Meanwhile, the 2nd and 3rd best players get the Silver & Bronze Ball Awards.

FIFA Women’s World Cup Golden Ball Winners

Over the years, several outstanding players have been honored with the Golden Ball, solidifying their place in women’s football history.

Year Golden Ball Silver Ball Bronze Ball
2023 Aitana Bonmati Jenni Hermoso Amanda Ilestedt
2019 Megan Rapinoe Lucy Bronze Rose Lavelle
2015 Carli Lloyd Amandine Henry Aya Miyama
2011 Homare Sawa Abby Wambach Hope Solo
2007 Marta Birgit Prinz Cristiane
2003 Birgit Prinz Victoria Svensson Maren Meinert
1999 Sun Wen Sissi Michelle Akers
1995 Hege Riise Gro Espeseth Ann Kristin Aarønes
1991 Carin Jennings Michelle Akers Linda Medalen

Megan Rapinoe | 2019

Megan Rapinoe, an influential American forward, was awarded the Golden Ball in 2019. Her technical ability and leadership skills were vital in the USA’s defense of its World Cup title.

Carli Lloyd | 2015

Lloyd’s remarkable performance in the 2015 final helped the USA secure their third World Cup title. Her outstanding contributions led to her receiving the Golden Ball.

Also Read: FIFA World Cup Hat-Tricks List

Homare Sawa | 2011

Homare Sawa, a Japanese midfielder, was named the Golden Ball winner in 2011. Her key performances and leadership were helpful in Japan’s journey to the final, where they emerged as champions for the first time.

Marta | 2007

Marta is considered one of the best female players of all time. Her outstanding performances in the 2007 tournament, where she led Brazil to the final, earned her the Golden Ball Award.

Birgit Prinz | 2003

Birgit Prinz, a German forward, was awarded the Golden Ball in 2003. Prinz’s fast movement and leadership qualities were vital in moving Germany to its first WWC triumph.

Sun Wen | 1999

Sun Wen, a talented Chinese forward, received the Golden Ball in 1999. She played a crucial role in China’s impressive run to the final, showcasing her skills, creativity, and goal-scoring ability.

Read More: Women’s World Cup Golden Boot Winners

Hege Riise | 1995

Hege Riise, a Norwegian midfielder, was honored with the Golden Ball in 1995. Her exceptional skills in midfield contributed greatly to Norway’s success in clinching the World Cup title that year.

Michelle Akers | 1991

Akers, a prolific forward, played an essential role in the USA’s triumph in the first edition of the Women’s World Cup. Her skills and goal-scoring ability earned her the first-ever Golden Ball.

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply