FIFA World CupFootball

FIFA World Cup Golden Glove Winners From 1930 to 2022

FIFA World Cup Golden Glove Winners

FIFA World Cup Golden Glove Winners

When it comes to football, the most crucial player of the team is the goalkeeper, especially during knockouts, because everyone saves matters. So for them, FIFA introduced an outstanding “ Golden glove winner” award.
The FIFA World cup “Golden Glove award” is presented to the great goalkeepers who have given their best performance in world cup matches.
From 1930 to 1990, the best goalkeepers had been getting the Lev Yashin Award. While in 2010, the name of the Lev Yashin Award changed and it’s named Golden Glove.

List of FIFA World Cup Golden Glove Winners:

Here we have made a list of Golden glove winners from 1930-2022, along with countries and years:

Emiliano Martinez
Thibaut Courtois2018Belgium
Manuel Neuer2014Germany
Iker Casillas2010Spain
Gianluigi Buffon2006Italy
Oliver Kahn2002Germany
Fabien Barthez1998France
Michel Preud’homme1994Belgium
Luis Gabelo1990Conejo
Jean-Marie Pfaff1986Belgium
Dino Zolf1982Italy
Ubaldo Fillo1978Argentina
Sepp Maier1974West Germany
Sepp Maier        1974West Germany
Ladislao Mazurkiewicz1970Uruguay
Gordon Banks1966England
Gordon Banks1966England
Viliam Schrojf   1962Czechoslovakia
Harry Gregg1958Northern Island
Gyula Grosics1954Hungary
Roque Máspoli 1950Uruguay
František Plánička1938Czechoslovakia
Enrique Ballestrero1930Uruguay

As you guys know, the goalkeeper’s importance is a lot, and half of the match is dependent on them, so they have to be conscious as there are a lot of chances of a tie so, that’s why they are awarded a special award “ Golden Glove winner”. TSG is a FIFA technical group that selects the winner according to their performance. 

There are a lot of Golden award winners, but Oliver Kahn is the only footballer awarded by Golden Glove and the Golden Ball award in the same year.

In 2018, many players amazingly played, but they couldn’t save their team from remaining in the competition. Kasper Schmeichel, Akinfeev, etc., played very well, but they couldn’t win.

World Cup 2022 Golden Glove Winner

Emiliano Martinez, the goalie for Argentina, won the award & made a scene when he received the Golden Glove award. The Aston Villa goalkeeper put the Golden Glove award to his pelvis on the stage after just playing an important role in the penalty kick.

2022 FIFA World Cup Golden Glove Winner


FIFA World cup Golden glove has been presented to the best goalkeepers who had performed well as you guys know that the goalkeeper’s importance is a lot and half of the match is dependent on them.

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply