Caribbean Premier League Winners List Year Wise

CPL Winners List From 2013 to 2022

One of the famous T20 cricket tournaments is the CPL, which was started in the West Indies by the West Indies Cricket Board. 6 clubs will compete in the Caribbean Premier League, which will be held in August and September of 2023.

The most successful team in the history of the Caribbean Premier League is Trinbago Knight Riders, which is owned by Knight Riders Group and won the title 4 times in 2015, 2017, 2018, and 2020.

CPL Winners List Year Wise

Here are all of the CPL Winners list from 2013 until 2023:

Year Winner Runners-Up
2023 Guyana Amazon Warriors Trinbago Knight Riders
2022 Jamaica Tallawahs Barbados Royals
2021 St Kitts & Nevis Patriots Saint Lucia Kings
2020 Trinbago Knight Riders St Lucia Zouks
2019 Barbados Royals Guyana Amazon Warriors
2018 Trinbago Knight Riders Guyana Amazon Warriors
2017 Trinbago Knight Riders St Kitts & Nevis Patriots
2016 Jamaica Tallawahs Guyana Amazon Warriors
2015 Trinbago Knight Riders Barbados Royals
2014 Barbados Tridents Guyana Amazon Warriors
2013 Jamaica Tallawahs Guyana Amazon Warriors

CPL Winners 2023

The Guyana Amazon Warriors won the Caribbean Premier League 2023 after defeating the Trinbago Knight Riders in the final game. By batting first, Trinbago Knight Riders only scored 94 runs in 18 overs.

cpl winners 2023

In the second inning, Guyana Amazon Warriors batters showed a fantastic performance. They chased the score in 14 overs by losing one wicket. So, the Guyana team won their first victory. 

CPL Winners 2022

By defeating Barbados Royals by eight wickets in the Caribbean Premier League final of 2022 at Providence Stadium in Georgetown, Guyana, Jamaica Tallawahs won their 3rd title. When faced with a target of 162, the Tallawahs used opener Brandon King’s 83 off 50 balls and Sharmarh Brooks’ 33-ball 47 to fast chase the score and win the match.

CPL Winners 2021

SKNP won the Caribbean Premier League 9th edition in 2021 by beating Saint Lucia Kings in the final game. By fitting, the First Saint Lucia Kings team scored 159 runs.

CPL Winners 2021

After St. Kitts’ opener struggled to get off to a strong start, the Patriots only lost two wickets for 26 runs. Then, Dominic Drakes, batting at number 6, contributed a 48-run inning that enabled them to reach their goal.

CPL Winners 2020

The eighth Caribbean Premier League season of 2020 saw Trinbago Knight Riders win the trophy for a record-tying fourth time, making them the league’s most successful team overall.

The Riders played St Lucia Zouks in the CPL 2020 championship match, and St Lucia set Trinbago a goal of 155 runs. In answer, Trinbago’s batters experienced no problems and quickly reached the goal in 18.1 overs with the loss of only two wickets.

CPL Winners 2019

The Barbados Tridents won the CPL Cup in 2019’s 7th season after beating the Guyana Amazon Warriors team in the final. The Guyana Amazon Warriors made their 5th appearance in the Caribbean Premier League final, but they could not win the championship and, therefore, missed their fifth chance.

CPL Winners 2018

In the sixth season of the Caribbean Premier League in 2018, Trinbago Knight Rides once again to the final and won over Guyana Amazon Warriors to win the title for the 3rd time. Guyana made 148 runs while batting first. While Trinbago’s openers got off to a strong start, which allowed other batters to play carefree and quickly reach the goal in just 17.3 overs.

CPL Winners 2017

Trinbago Knight Riders defeated St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots by three wickets in the Caribbean Premier League 2017 final game, making them the tournament champions for the 2nd time. The Trinbago team needed to score 136 runs to win the CPL 2017 cup, But they faltered early and lost three wickets for 48 runs.

CPL Winners 2016

CPL Winners 2016

The 2016 CPL’s 4th season was won by the Jamaica Tallawahs, who overcame the Guyana Amazon Warrior by nine wickets in the championship match.

The Guyana Amazon Warriors made it to the final for the third time but did not have great luck winning. Both teams had earlier played one another in the Caribbean Premier League 1st edition last game.

CPL Winners 2015

Tobago Knight Riders, formerly known as Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel won the Caribbean Premier League 2015 trophy after beating Barbados Tridents by 20 runs in the final.

For the first time in CPL history, Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel went to the championship game, where they faced Barbados Tridents, the defending champion.

CPL Winners 2014

Barbados Tridents routed Guyana Amazon Warriors by eight runs to win the Caribbean Premier League 2014 championship in the second season. The Barbados Tridents were given the chance to bat first, and in their 20 overs, they scored 152 runs.

Instead, the game was stopped by rain, and the Guyana Amazon Warriors reached their target of 116 runs in 15.5 overs. The Amazon Warriors scored 107 in return but fell short by eight runs.

You Also Like: CPL Points Table 2023

CPL Winners 2013

The Jamaica Tallawahs overcame the Guyana Amazon Warriors by seven wickets in the final game of the first CPL edition. Guyana Amazon Warriors had the option to bat first in the last match of the Caribbean Premier League inaugural edition, and they added 128 runs to the score.

CPL 2013 Winner

Jamaica just needed 129 runs to win the match, and when they started to chase the mark, they had little trouble reaching it. So the CPL 2013 Championship was won by Jamaica Tallawahs with the help of 7 wickets.

Most Successful Teams in CPL 

The most successful team in CPL is the Trinbago Knight Riders, who won the tournament four times. The 2nd successful team in the Caribbean Premier League is Jamaica Tallawahs, who won the trophy three times.

Barbados Tridents is the third-best team in CPL and twice won the competition. Guyana Amazon Warriors & St Kitts & Nevis Patriots teams won the CPL once.

Team No. of Wins
Trinbago Knight Riders 4 Times
Jamaica Tallawahs 3 Times
Barbados Tridents 2 Times
Guyana Amazon Warriors 1 Time
St Kitts & Nevis Patriots 1 Time

Individual Team Position in CPL

Antigua Hawksbill Team

Year Position
2013 5th
2014 6th

St. Lucia Stars Team

Year Position
2013 6th
2014 5th
2015 5th
2016 4th
2017 6th
2018 5th
2019 5th
2020 3rd
2021 4th
2022 3rd

St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots Team

Year Position
2015 6th
2016 6th
2017 Runner-up
2018 3rd
2019 3rd
2020 6th
2021 3rd
2022 5th

Guyana Amazon Warriors Team

Year Position
2013 Runner-up
2014 Runner-up
2015 3rd
2016 Runner-up
2017 3rd
2018 Runner-up
2019 Winner
2020 Runner-up
2021 Runner-up
2022 2nd
2023 Winner

Barbados Tridents Team

Year Position
2013 3rd
2014 Winner
2015 Runner-up
2016 5th
2017 5th
2018 6th
2019 Runner-up
2020 5th
2021 6th
2022 Runner-up

Jamaica Tallawahs Team

Year Position
2013 Winner
2014 3rd
2015 4th
2016 Winner
2017 4th
2018 4th
2019 6th
2020 4th
2021 5th
2022 Winner

Trinbago Knight Riders Team

Year Position
2023 Runner-up
2013 4th
2014 4th
2015 Winner
2016 3rd
2017 Winner
2018 Winner
2019 4th
2020 Winner
2021 Winner
2022 6th

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply