basketball world cupBasketballMoney

FIBA Basketball World Cup Prize Money

FIBA Basketball World Cup Prize Money 

The 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup will held from 25 August to 10 September. The Philippines, Japan, and Indonesia will host the World Cup this year. Basketball World Cup promises to give excitement and fierce competition on the hardwood. The Basketball World Cup prize money for the 2023 season has been announced.

FIBA Basketball World Cup Prize Money 

Rank No. of Teams Payout
Champions 1 $2.5m
Runner-ups 1 $1.5m
Third Place 1 $1.2m
Fourth Place 1 $1.2m
5th to 8th Place Each team $800k
9th to 16th Place Each team $550k
17th to 32nd Place Each team $200k

In the 2014 edition, the winners were rewarded a $1 million payout, but this year’s prize money has increased. In 2023, the Basketball World Cup champion will get a handsome $2.5 million payout.

In the 2014 tournament, the finalist received a $600k payout from the total fund. But, this year, the runner-up team will fill their pockets with a $1.5 million prize.

The teams that secure third and fourth place will get an equal payout of $1.2 million from the total purse. In the 2014 edition, the 3rd and 4th places teams were not rewarded with a good prize.

Read More: FIBA Basketball World Cup Schedule

In the the 2023 Basketball World Cup, the teams who will get a place between 5th to 8th position each get a $800k prize.

The ninth through sixteenth-placed teams will also get a nice $550k reward. Teams that place lower in the standings will also get prize money. The 17th through 32nd place teams will receive a $200k prize.


In conclusion, the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2023 is an exciting and thrilling tournament for fans. By raising prize money, FIBA is making it quite apparent that it values the skill of basketball teams worldwide.

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply