World Baseball ClassicBaseball

World Baseball Classic Winners List By Year

World Baseball Classic Winners List By Year

World Baseball Classic Winners List By Year

Year Winner Runner-up
2023 TBC TBC
2017 USA Puerto Rico
2013 Dominican Republic Puerto Rico
2009 Japan S. Korea
2006 Japan Cuba


The WBC 2017 edition was hosted by four different nations. In this edition, Puerto Rico again reached the final match where they faced the USA. This time Puerto Rico again lost the final game with a score of 8-0. So this tournament was won by the host nation Unites States.


The World Baseball Classic 2013 was won by the Dominican Republic after beating Puerto Rico. The Dominican Republic beat them by the score of 3–0. In WBC 2013 Japan became in 3rd place, and the Netherlands get 4th place.

You Also Like: World Baseball Classic Prize Money


The WBC 2009 was hosted by the four countries. In this edition, 16 teams fought each other to win the title. The final game of the tournament was held between Japan and South Korea. Host nation Japan defeated South Korea with a score of 5-3. So this was the 2nd consecutive victory of Japan.


The World Baseball Classic 2006 was hosted by three countries, the USA, Japan, and  Puerto Rico. There was a total of 16 teams were competing this season. The 2006 WBC was won by the host country Japan after beating Cuba in the final match with a score of 10-6.

Most World Baseball Classic Winners

There are only three teams who at least won the world baseball classic one time. The most successful team in the Baseball Classic World is Japan. Japan won the WBC two times in 2006 and 2009.

The other two teams are USA and Dominican Republic who won the one-time World Baseball Classic. The United States won the WBC in 2017, and the Dominican Republic won in 2013.

Years Team Titles
2006, 2009 Japan 2
2017 USA 1
2013 Dominican Republic 1

World Baseball Classic Results

Year Winner Runner-Up Score
2017 United States Puerto Rico 8-0
2013 Dominican Republic Puerto Rico 3-0
2009 Japan S.Korea 5-3
2006 Japan Cuba 10-6

Most Valuable Players in WBC

Year Player
2006 Daisuke Matsuzaka
2009 Daisuke Matsuzaka
2013 Robinson Canó
2017 Marcus Stroman

Which Nation Has Won the Most WBC?

Japan has won the two times World Baseball Classics. First in 2006 after beating Cuba, and in 2009 by defeating South Korea.

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply