Women's T20 World CupCricket

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Winners List From 2009 to 2023

Women's T20 World Cup Winners List

The first Women’s World Cup was held in 2009 and was won by England after defeating New Zealand in the final game.

In the final match of the Women’s T20 World Cup 2020, the Australian team defeated India by 85 runs and won the trophy for a fifth time.

Here, we have shared the Women’s T20 World Cup winners list from 2009 to the present. 

Women’s T20 World Cup Winners List Year Wise

Year Winner Runners-Up Venue Host
2023 TBC TBC Cape Town South Africa
2020 Australia India Melbourne Australia
2018 Australia England North Sound West Indies
2016 West Indies Australia Kolkata India
2014 Australia England Dhaka Bangladesh
2012 Australia England Colombo Sri Lanka
2010 Australia New Zealand Bridgetown West Indies
2009 England New Zealand London England

Women’s T20 World Cup Winners 2020

Women's T20 World Cup Winners 2020

Australia hosted the inaugural T20 World Cup, which it won by defeating India in the final match. Australia scored a high total of 184/4 in their opening innings.  The Indian side was eliminated after just scoring 99 runs.

2018 Winner of  Women’s T20 World Cup

Due to a tight schedule, the Men’s T20 World Cup was not contested in 2018, while the Women’s tournament was held in the West Indies. In the last game, England played first and was finally out for just 105 runs. Australia attempted to win the game by 8 wickets; the required number of overs was 15.1.

Women’s T20 World Cup Champion 2016

India hosted the Women’s T20 World Cup for the first time during the year. Australia scored 148/5 when playing first in the final game. West Indies responded by reaching the goal in 19 overs to win the tournament.

 2014 Women’s T20 World Cup Champion

Australia & England faced off against one other in the final of this Bangladesh-based tournament. That time, England’s first-inning score was only 105/8. In return, Australia won by six wickets with 5 overs remaining.

You Also Like: Asia Cup Winners List

Women’s T20 World Cup Winners 2012

Women's T20 World Cup Winners 2012 

Australia again made it to the finals in 2012, when Sri Lanka served as the competition’s host nation. They had to compete with England, who had a 143-run goal to reach. But with a 4-run win in the championship game, the Australian team took home the trophy yet again.

2010 Women’s T20 World Cup Winners

The final of the 2nd version, which took place in the West Indies in 2010, was a match between New Zealand vs Australia. The Australian women batted and first scored 106/8 before reducing New Zealand to 103/6. With this thrilling three-run win, Australia won the championship for the first time.

You Also Like: T20 World Cup Points Table

2009 Women’s T20 World Cup Winners

The hosts England won the inaugural competition, which was held in 2009. In the final game, they beat New Zealand by six wickets while scoring 86 runs in just 17 overs.

Most Women’s T20 World Cup Winners

There are only three teams that won the Women’s t20 World Cup. Australia is the most successful team who won the five-times world cup.

England and West Indies both have won one one-time Women’s World Cup. Except for the three teams, no other team has succeeded in winning the competition.

Team Won
Australia 5
England 1
West Indies 1

You Also Like: Women’s T20 World Cup Schedule

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply