CricketAsia CupList

Asia Cup Winners List, Runner-up, And History From 1984 to 2023

Asia Cup Winners List

Asia Cup started in 1984 and was held in UAE. Asia Cup was played in the ODI format. But later, it changed to the t20 format. In 2016, the Asia Cup had played in the t20 format for the first time.

So the Asian cricket council decided that ODI and T20 would be played alternatively.  Asia Cup 2023 was agreed to be played in Pakistan and Sri Lanka. This article will discuss the Asia Cup winners list, runner-ups, and successful teams.

Asia Cup Winners List From 1984 to 2023

Year Winners Runner-up Format
2023 ODI
2022 Sri Lanka Pakistan T20I
2018 India Bangladesh ODI
2016 India Bangladesh T20I
2014 Sri Lanka Pakistan ODI
2012 Pakistan Bangladesh ODI
2010 India Sri Lanka ODI
2008 Sri Lanka India ODI
2004 Sri Lanka India ODI
2000 Pakistan Sri Lanka ODI
1997 Sri Lanka India ODI
1995 India Sri Lanka ODI
1990/91 India Sri Lanka ODI
1988 India Sri Lanka ODI
1986 Sri Lanka Pakistan ODI
1984 India Sri Lanka ODI

Asia Cup 2022

The 2022 Asia Cup was played in T20 format, and host Sri Lanka lifted the title this season by defeating Pakistan in the final. Mohammad Rizwan was the leading run-scorer in the 2022 Asia Cup.

Asia Cup 2018

According to the announcement by ICC, this cup was played in the ODI format, and India won the title against Bangladesh after an excellent and competitive match.

Shikhar Dhawan was awarded the player of the series because of his hard work and efforts, as he scored 342 runs in 5 games, and it’s an outstanding achievement.

Asia Cup 2016

It was announced that from 2016 this tournament would be played alternatively, so this year, it was played in the T20 format. India won it, while Bangladesh was the runner-up and lost the match by eight wickets.

Asia Cup 2014

It was also hosted in Dhaka, Bangladesh, and it was the first time Afghanistan joined the tournament, so a total of 5 teams played the game that year. Still, Pakistan won a great victory, as they defeated Pakistan by five wickets.

Asia Cup 2012

It was the 11th edition of the Asia Cup, scheduled in Bangladesh, Dhaka. Bangladesh and Pakistan both qualified for the finals and in the last over, Pakistan turned out the tables and won the trophy.

Asia Cup 2008

This was the first Asia Cup scheduled in Pakistan, and Sri Lanka and India both qualified for the finals, but unfortunately, India lost, and Sri Lanka won it by 100 runs.

Asia Cup 2004

Srilanka hosted this cup, and two teams played it, Hong Kong and UAE, for the first time. But, it was won by Srilanka while India ended up as runner-up.

Asia Cup 2000

Bangladesh hosted Asia Cup this time, and this year Pakistan and Srilanka made their way to the finals, and Pakistan took the trophy home.

This was the first time after many editions that Pakistan won. Unfortunately, all the defending champions like India and Srilanka couldn’t beat it.

Asia Cup 1997

It was the sixth edition of the Asia Cup that was played in Srilanka, and this year, India and Srilanka also made it to the finals. But, this time, Srilanka won the trophy by defeating India badly.

Asia Cup 1995

This Asia Cup was the fifth edition played in UAE, and India won it by defeating Srilanka. India qualified for the finals because of the excellent run rate.

Asia Cup 1990-91

This year Asia Cup was held in India, so Pakistan boycotted it because of a rivalry between both countries since their partition. So, India won those tournaments as well, while Srilanka became runner-up.

Asia Cup 1988

This year Asia Cup was scheduled in Bangladesh for the first time, and India won this year by defeating Sri Lanka for the second time.

Asia Cup 1986

It was scheduled in Sri Lanka, while India boycotted that year because of some political problems with Sri Lanka. Instead of India, Bangladesh participated for the first time, but Sri Lanka won it while Pakistan ended up as the runner-up.

Asia Cup 1984

It is the inaugural edition of the Asia Cup that was played in UAE; only three Asian teams participated in it Pakistan, India, and Sri Lanka. India also won it, while Sri Lanka ended up as the runner-up.

Most Asia Cup Winners List

Team No. of Wins
India 7 Times
Sri Lanka 6 Times
Pakistan 2 Times

The tournament’s most successful team is India, which won almost seven titles. The second most successful team in the Asia Cup is Sri Lanka, who won six championships. Pakistan is the third most successful team in Asia Cup, winning the trophy twice.

T20 Asia Cup Winners

Year Team
2022 Sri Lanka
2018 India
2016 India

Asia Cup Winning Captain List

Year Team Captain
2023 TBH TBD
2022 Sri Lanka Dasun Shanaka
2018 India Rohit Sharma
2016 India MS Dhoni
2014 Sri Lanka Angelo Mathews
2012 Pakistan Misbah-ul-Haq
2010 IND MS Dhoni
2008 Sri Lanka Mahela Jayawardene
2004 Sri Lanka Marvan Atapattu
2000 Pakistan Moin Khan
1997 Sri Lanka Arjuna Ranatunga
1995 India M. Azharuddin
1990 India M. Azharuddin
1988 India Dilip Vengsarkar
1986 Sri Lanka Duleep Mendis
1984 India Sunil Gavaskar
Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply