Women's Super SmashCricketLeagues

Women’s Super Smash Winners List From 2007 to 2023

Women's Super Smash Winners List

Two years after the men’s competition had first been held, in 2007, the women’s edition of New Zealand’s premier national limited-overs cricket tournament was launched. At the Women’s Super Smash’s first competition, won by the Canterbury Magicians.

Out of the five games, they won four and drew one. Their last match against the Otago Sparks was called off before a ball was even played. In fact, during the initial edition, Canterbury Magicians was the only unbeaten club.

The Magicians came in second place behind Wellington Blaze, Wellington team won their first championship in the 2008-09 competition.

The victory in the 2008–2009 edition marked the start of Wellington’s dominance in the league as they continued to win the title six more times in 2012–2013, 2014–2015, 3 straight championships from 2017–2020, and 202–21.

Canterbury Magicians, the competition’s first champions, have won the competition six times in the tournament, their recent victory comes in 2022-23.

The other teams who have won the Women’s Super Smash once each are Central Hinds, Auckland Hearts, and Otago Sparks.

Women’s Super Smash Winners 2023

The women’s super smash 2023 season has been won by the Canterbury Magicians after beating the Wellington Blaze by 12 runs. This is the sixth time the Canterbury Magicians won the women’s Super Smash.

Canterbury Magicians bat first and score 145 runs in 20 overs by losing 9 wickets. While Wellington Blaze makes only 133 runs in 20 overs.

Women’s Super Smash Winners List

Year Winner Runner-up
2022/23 Canterbury Magicians Wellington Blaze
2021/22 Wellington Blaze Otago Sparks
2020/21 Canterbury Magicians Wellington Blaze
2019/20 Wellington Blaze Auckland Hearts
2018/19 Wellington Blaze Canterbury Magicians
2017/18 Wellington Blaze Auckland Hearts
2016/17 Otago Sparks Canterbury Magicians
2015/16 Canterbury Magicians Central Hinds
2014/15 Wellington Blaze Otago Sparks
2013/14 Auckland Hearts Canterbury Magicians
2012/13 Wellington Blaze Canterbury Magicians
2011/12 Canterbury Magicians Auckland Hearts
2010/11 Canterbury Magicians Wellington Blaze
2009/10 Central Hinds Auckland Hearts
2008/09 Wellington Blaze Canterbury Magicians
2007/08 Canterbury Magicians Central Hinds

You Also Like: Men’s Super Smash Winners List

Most Successful Team in Women’s Super Smash

Wellington Blaze is the most successful team in the Women’s Super Smash, they won tournaments seven times. From 2018 to 2020 they won the 3 seasons in a row.

The 2nd successful team in the tournament is Canterbury Magicians, they won the 6 women’s Super Smash. The other three teams, Otago Sparks, Central Hinds, and Auckland Hearts become the winners of the season.

Team Wins Time
Wellington Blaze 7 Times
Canterbury Magicians 6 Times
Otago Sparks 1 Time
Auckland Hearts 1 Time
Central Hinds 1 Time

Leave a Reply