MoneyCricketT20 World Cup

T20 World Cup Prize Money from 2007 to 2022

T20 world cup prize money
In this article, we discussed the t20 world cup prize money from 2007 to 2022. The 8th edition of this tournament has been held in Australia. Austria was the champion of the previous world cup.

Teams that have qualified for the super 12 round in the t20 world cup 2021 have also qualified for the world cup 2022.

The other 4 teams will take from the two global Qualifiers. where 8 teams compete with each other only 2 teams from each global qualifier stage will play in the world cup.

T20 World Cup 2022 Prize Money

Prize money for the t20 world cup is increased by the ICC to maintain international cricket’s fame more than domestic T20 leagues. The t20 world cup 2022 prize money, has been announced by the ICC cricket board.

The prize money of the t20 world cup 2021 was $5.6 million which was distributed among the 16 teams. In 2022, the total prize money for the t20 world cup has $5.6 million.

The winning team will get $1.6 million in prize money also the championship trophy. $800k million will give to the lost team in the world cup. While each team will knock out in the semi-final and receive $400,000. The 8 teams who drop out of the Super 12 will each get $70,000.

You Also Like: ICC T20 World Cup Live Streaming

The first round will include the eight teams, which are divided into two groups of four. These teams are Namibia, Sri Lanka, the Netherlands, the United Arab Emirates, and Zimbabwe in Group B, and they will compete in Group A.

First-round winners will each get $40,000 in prize money, for a total of $480,000 throughout the 12 matches. Every one of the four teams eliminated in the first round will get $40,000.

Winners 1 $1,600,000 $1,600,000
Runners-Up 1 $800,000 $800,000
Losing Semi-finalists 2 $400,000 $800,000
Super 12 Wins 30 $40,000 $1,200,000
Super 12 Exit 8 $70,000 $560,000
First Round Win 12 $40,000 $480,000
First Round Exit 4 $40,000 $160,000
Total $5,600,000

Comparison With T20 World cup 2021 Prize Money

The prize money for the 2021 t20 world cup was set to $5.6 million. This prize money was spread among the total 16 teams that played in the world cup.

In the 2021 world cup. the winning team was a total get $1.6 million, winning the world cup they get $1.4 million, and for winning the Super 12 round 4 matches won $147k.

The runners-up team won $400,000 to play the final match. while they won INR 1.32 crores on won the 4 matches out of 5 from the super 12 round. So, they total won INR 7.15 crores in the world cup 2021.

Moreover, England won the 4 matches from the league phase and get 1.2 INR crores, and in total, they won 4.2 INR crores. 3 INR crores prize Pak & IIND teams won to play the semi-finals.

Hence, Pakistan also won 1.5 crores in the world cup for winning the 5 league matches. INR 90 lakhs for winning three out of five games and INR 52 lakhs for reaching the Super 12 stage.

T20 World  Cup Sponsors List

The other teams who were not qualified for the Super 12 phase won INR 52 Lakhs in prize money. 30 INR lakhs were also given to the team for every victory.

T20 World Cup Prize Money From 2007 to 2022
World Cup Year Winner Prize Runners Up
2009  $250,000
2014 $1.1 million $550,000
2016 $3.5 million $1.5 million
2021 $1.6 million $800,000
2022 $1,600,000 $800,000
Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply