T20 World CupCricket

T20 World Cup 2022

ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022

T20 World Cups History

In 2002, when the Benson & Hedges Cup ended, ECB wanted a one-day competition that filled its place. Boards of cricket wish to increase the game’s appeal to young people to deal with decreasing audience & sponsorships.
In 2001, Stuart Robertson, the marketing manager in the ECB, gave the idea of a 20 20-overs format game to county chairmen. They approved using the new format with a vote of 11-7.
This tournament intended to give thrilling cricket that helped to capture that audience who had left viewing cricket due to the long format.
The first T20 World Cup was held in South Africa in 2007, and India hosted the last in UAE. In the T20 World Cups, West Indies is the Most Successful team.

T20 World Cup 2022

From 16 October to 13 November 2022, the World Cup 2022 will be held in Australia. The T20 World Cup was supposed to be born in 2020, but due to COVID-19, this tournament was postponed and held in 2021.
This article discusses everything related to the World Cup 2022, like squad, team, venue, etc.

T20 World Cup 2022 Qualified Teams

A total of 16 teams are qualified for the T20 World Cup. The top eight teams are Australia, New Zealand, England, Afghanistan, India, Pakistan, South Africa, and Bangladesh. These teams are divided into 2 Groups: A and B.

The other eight teams will compete with each other in the qualifying Round. They are Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Ireland, UAE, Zimbabwe, Namibia, West Indies, and Scotland. They also divide into 2 Groups. The top 2 teams from both Groups will play in the next Super 12 stage.

T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule

As the T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule was announced, The World Cup begins on 16 October and ends on 13 November. It will be less than a month since this carnival in Australia.

This entertainment period time is 28 days. All match times are according to Australian Standard Time.

T20 World Cup 2022 Venues

According to the updates, 2022 World Cup stadiums are fully ready to host this tournament. Seven different venues have decided to host World Cup matches.

  • Perth Stadium, Known as (Optus)
  • Sydney Stadium
  • Hobart Stadium
  • Adelaide Stadium
  • Melbourne Stadium
  • Brisbane Geelong Stadium

These venues will host the mega event matches. Melbourne will also host the Final.

T20 World Cup Squads 2022

From the qualifying Round, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Netherlands, UAE, West Indies, and Sri Lanka have announced their line-up, while Ireland and Scotland have not revealed their squad yet.

While from the Super 12 Round, all teams Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, India, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, South Africa, and England have finalized their line-up for the World Cup 2022.

T20 World Cup Awards 2022

The T20 World Cup Awards include the Highest Scorer of the Tournament, which means the batsman who hits the most runs; the Highest Wicket Taker of the Cup, which means the bowler who dismissals the batsman most times; and the Best Player of the Tournament, which whose performance was more impactful for his team.

But In every individual Match, the Man of the Match Award is given to the best player who will play the most crucial role in the Match.

T20 World Cup Records 2022

In all seasons, New World Cup Records are made. Many bowlers take too many wickets and make their name on the legendary bowler’s list. Some batsmen play some excellent knocks and become superstars. Some of the extraordinary performances in tournaments make them unique.

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply