NRL Ladder | Premiership Table And Latest Standings

NRL Ladder

In the exhilarating world of rugby league, the NRL ladder is a barometer of success throughout the regular season. As the NRL 2023 regular season has recently concluded, these standings are the start of the finals series 2023.

In this guide, we will unravel the NRL ladder, explaining the points system, tie-breakers, and the evolution of the finals system.

NRL Ladder 2023

Rank Teams W D L F/A Points
1st Penrith Panthers 18 0 6 333 42
2nd Brisbane Broncos 18 0 6 214 42
3rd Melbourne Storm 16 0 8 168 38
4th New Zealand Warriors 16 0 8 124 38
5th Newcastle Knights 14 1 9 175 35
6th Cronulla Sharks 14 0 10 122 32
7th Sydney Roosters 13 0 11 -24 32
8th Canberra Raiders 13 0 11 -137 32
9th South Sydney Rabbitohs 12 0 12 59 30
10th Parramatta Eels 12 0 12 13 30
11th North Queensland Cowboys 12 0 12 4 30
12th Manly Sea Eagles 11 1 12 6 29
13th Dolphins 9 0 15 -111 24
14th Gold Coast Titans 9 0 15 -126 24
15th Canterbury Bulldogs 7 0 17 -331 20
16th St George Illawarra Dragons 5 0 19 -199 16
17th Wests Tigers 4 0 20 -290 14

NRL Ladder Points System

In the NRL, the points system is simple. Here’s a breakdown:

  • The winning team earned two points for their triumph on the field.
  • Unfortunately, the losing side earned zero points for their efforts.
  • Teams earned two points for a bye.

If a game is tied after 80 minutes, then the “golden point” concept comes into play. Two five-minute halves of golden point decide the outcome; anyone can score in the match, whether a penalty, try, or field goal.

And if the score remains the same after these halves, the game goes as a draw, where both teams receive one point. Since the introduction of Golden Point in 2003, there have been 12 draws, averaging to one per year.

Read More: Rugby World Cup Standings

For and Against: The Tie-Breaker

In the event of teams finishing with an equal number of points after completing 26 rounds, their destiny will be determined by the “for and against” criterion. This involves subtracting the total points scored against the team from the total points they have accrued throughout the season.

Evolution of the NRL Finals System

The current finals system, reminiscent of the AFL finals series, has existed for some time. Here’s how it works:

  • The first week of the finals features the top four teams squaring off against each other.
  • Meanwhile, the second four teams in the top eight hierarchy clash.
  • Victorious teams in the top four clashes earn a ticket to the third week of the finals.
  • While the defeated sides face off against the winners from the second four.
  • The losers in the second four matchups are eliminated from the finals race.
  • While the winners earn a shot at saving against the losers from the top four.

Read More: Rugby World Cup Pools 2023

A Glimpse into History

The previous final system was known as the McIntyre system. This featured the team that finished first playing against the eighth-placed squad, the second against the seventh, and so on.

In this format, the two highest-ranked losers had the chance of a second chance. But, this system was replaced in 2011, giving birth to the current structure.

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply