ODI World CupCricketList

ICC ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List From 1975 to 2023

Cricket World Cup Winners List

Cricket World Cup is the ultimate pinnacle of success in cricket. This international tournament brings together the best cricketing teams from around the globe.

Over the years, numerous teams have battled on the field, showcasing their skills, determination, and passion for the game. This article will examine the Cricket World Cup Winners List and glorify the teams that have triumphed in this prestigious event.

Cricket World Cup Winners List

YearWinnerRunners UpHost
2019EnglandNew ZealandEngland
2015AustraliaNew ZealandAustralia
2011IndiaSri LankaIndia
2007AustraliaSri LankaAustralia
1996Sri LankaAustraliaIndia, Pakistan & Sri Lanka
1992PakistanEnglandAustralia & New Zealand
1987AustraliaEnglandIndia & Pakistan
1983IndiaWest IndiesEngland
1979West IndiesEnglandEngland
1975West IndiesAustraliaEngland

Also Read: T20 World Cup Winners List

2019 | England

In a thrilling final match that went into a Super Over, England emerged victorious over New Zealand, securing their first-ever World Cup title.

2015 | Australia

Australia clinched their fifth World Cup title in a dominant display, defeating New Zealand in the final.

2011 | India

India, led by the charismatic captain MS Dhoni, played exceptional cricket throughout the tournament and defeated Sri Lanka in the final, becoming champions for the second time.

2007 | Australia

Australia’s cricketing prowess was on display again as they triumphed over Sri Lanka in a rain-affected final, winning their fourth World Cup. It is the third time Australia has become the winner in a consecutive row.

2003 | Australia

The Australian team led by Ricky Ponting dominated the tournament, defeating India in the final and securing their third World Cup win. It was the second time in a straight row that Australia became the champion.

1999 | Australia

Australia emerged as champions for the second time, overpowering Pakistan in the final led by their formidable team featuring greats like Steve Waugh.

1996 | Sri Lanka

With their explosive batting and crafty bowling, Sri Lanka triumphed over Australia in the final to secure their maiden World Cup victory.

1992 | Pakistan

Pakistan, led by Imran Khan, showcased their remarkable skills and defeated England to claim their first World Cup title.

1987 | Australia

Australia emerged victorious in their first World Cup triumph, defeating England in a closely contested final.

Also Read: IPL Winners List

1983 | India

Under Kapil Dev’s captaincy, India stunned the world by defeating the mighty West Indies in the World Cup final.

1979 | West Indies

The West Indies continued their dominance in the second edition of the World Cup, defeating England in the final.

1975 | West Indies

The West Indies stamped their authority on the cricketing world by winning the inaugural World Cup. Led by Clive Lloyd, they defeated Australia in the final.

Most Time Time World Cup Winners

Australia is the most successful team in the ODI World Cup history, winning the crown five times. West Indies is the second successful team in the World Cup era, winning the trophy two times. Pakistan, India, and England are the other teams who won the trophy once.

TeamsNo. of Times
Australia5 Times
West Indies2 Times
India1 Time
Pakistan1 Time
England1 Time

Cricket World Cup Winning Captains List

2019Eoin MorganEngland
2015Michael ClarkeAustralia
2011MS DhoniIndia
2007Ricky PontingAustralia
2003Ricky PontingAustralia
1999Steve WaughAustralia
1996Arjuna RanatungaSri Lanka
1992Imran KhanPakistan
1987Allan BorderAustralia
1983Kapil DevIndia
1979Clive LloydWest Indies
1975Clive LloydWest Indies
Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply