T20 World CupCricket

T20 World Cup Famous Referees

T20 World Cup Famous Referees

T20 World Cup Famous Referees:

This year’s World T20 Cup will be held from October 16 in Australia. It has been announced that the International Cricket Council will appoint a referee to take charge during the cricket tournament.

The referee of the match is the official in charge of supervising professional cricket matches. Umpires for Test matches and One Day Internationals are appointed by the International Cricket Council (ICC). Most matches below the international level do not have a referee.

The match referee remains off the field of play throughout the actual playing of the game and watches the proceedings from the spectator area. The referee does not make any decisions that are relevant to the game or the outcome of the game; such decisions are the sole responsibility of the appointed arbitrators. It is the responsibility of the match referee to ensure that the ICC Code of Cricket is followed during play, adjudicate any breaches of the Code, and award penalties for any breaches.

The Referee for the T20 World Cup 2022

In a cricket match,  the job is to monitor every single detail of the game. The match referee decides whether the team wins or loses. Every season, the ICC publishes the list of all the referees who will watch the 2022 World Cup T20 from the pavilion.

  • David Boon
  • Jeff Crowe
  • Ranjan Madugalle
  • Javagal Srinath
  • Andy Pycroft
  • Richie Richardson
  • Chris Broad
  • Wasim Raja
  • Alan Hurst

 #9: Andy Pycroft

Andrew John Pycroft (born 6 June 1956) is a former Zimbabwean cricketer who played in 3 Test matches and 20 One Day Internationals between 1983 and 1992. In March 2006, Pycroft was appointed coach of the Zimbabwean A side, a role he held until August 2008, when he was sacked along with first-team coach Robin Brown.

Pycroft became a member of the ICC’s elite panel of match referees in March 2009. He played for Rhodesia before Zimbabwe’s independence. He also represented Team Zimbabwe (1980 onwards) and Western Province in the South African domestic competition.

#8: Richie Richardson

Sir Richard Benjamin Richardson, KCN is a former West Indies international cricketer and former captain of the West Indies cricket team. In January 2011, Richardson was appointed manager of the West Indies team for a two-year term, and on 28 February 2014, he was appointed a Knight Commander of the Order of the Nation (KCN) by the Antiguan Barbudan government. Richardson was appointed to the International Cricket Council (ICC) Elite Panel of Umpires on 21 September 2015.

After he retired from international cricket, Richardson became the first major player for England’s All-Star Club cricket team Lashings World XI and is the current captain of the team. In 2006, he broke the double hundred of the unfortunate Robert Saunders with four sixes.

#7: Brian Christopher Broad

Brian Christopher Broad (born 29 September 1957) is a former English cricketer and broadcaster who currently serves as a cricket official. Broad became an ICC Test Official, acting as match referee for Test matches and One Day Internationals, including the first match of the World Cricket Tsunami Appeal, and serving as match referee in the World Cup Super Eights between the West Indies and Australia.

Broad was a match umpire in the Second Test series against Sri Lanka in Pakistan and was in the convoy of vehicles that was attacked by terrorists in the 2009 attack on the Sri Lankan national cricket team.

During the attack, he allegedly risked his life to protect the injured referee. He and referee Simon Taufel subsequently criticized the level of protection provided to officials and players, telling a press conference: “We were promised a high level of security, and in our hour of need that security has disappeared”. Six Pakistani policemen and two civilians were killed and six Sri Lankan cricketers were injured in the attack.

#6: Wasim Raja:

Wasim Hasan Raja was a British Pakistani teacher, umpire, cricket coach, and cricketer who played in 57 Tests and 54 ODIs for the Pakistan national cricket team between 1973 and 1985. After marrying the Englishwoman Ann, he settled in London.

He studied education at Durham University and taught geography, mathematics, and physical education at Caterham School in Surrey. He was also the coach of the Pakistan Under-19 team and an International Cricket Council match referee in 15 Tests and 34 ODIs from 2002 to 2004.

#5: Alan Hurst:

Alan George Hurst (born 15 July 1950) is a former Australian cricketer who played in twelve Test matches and eight One Day Internationals between 1975 and 1979. He fits the archetype of the 1970s-style Australian fast bowler.

#4: David Boon:

David Boon is an Australian retired cricket commentator and match referee. He is also a former Australian cricketer who played from 1984-1996. He plays as a batsman in the game. David holds many career-best records.

 #3: Jeff Crowe:

Jeffrey is a professional former cricketer who was active in the game from 1983 to 1990. He is currently part of the ICC World Cup T20 2021 as a game referee. He has been in the position of referee since 2004. Jeff played 39 Test matches where he scored 1,601 runs and 1,518 runs from 75 ODI matches. Scored 10,233 runs from 180 FC matches.

#2: Ranjan Madugalle:

Ranjan Senerath Madugalle is a former Sri Lankan cricketer who played as a right-arm bowler. He is currently the head of the ICC Match Referee Panel. The Sri Lankan cricketer played 21 Test matches in which he scored 1,029 runs, and 950 runs from 63 ODI matches. 3,301 runs.

#1: Javagal Srinath:

Javagal Srinath is a former cricketer from India. He currently serves as an ICC match referee. He is currently the best fast bowler in India, holding the record of taking 300 wickets in ODIs.

Javagal hails from Karnataka, India, where he started his cricket career in 1991 and was in the game till 2003. In 1999, he was awarded the Arjuna Award by the Government of India.


The ICC World T20 will be held in Australia from October 16. This season, 45 teams will compete in the World T20. The list of referees was published by the ICC.


1 Comment

Leave a Reply