FIFA Women's World CupFootball

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 Hosts

FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 Hosts

The FIFA Women’s World Cup is a big football tournament that showcases great women’s football talent from around the globe. Every next edition of the Women’s WC has added excitement and achievements, helping it to gain popularity and relevance since its start.

This article will explore the upcoming FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 hosts and selection process, host cities, and stadiums for the tournament.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup is a platform for female footballers to show their skills and inspire the next generation of players. Following the success of previous editions, the expectations for the 2023 tournament are higher.

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 Hosts

Bid Process

The selection of the host nation for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup followed a strict and broad bid process. Countries interested in hosting the event submitted bids, which FIFA’s evaluation committee assessed. The bids were evaluated based on various criteria, such as infrastructure, stadiums, accommodation, transportation, and financial aspects.

Bidding Countries

Initially, nine countries were interested in hosting the tournament: Colombia, Australia, Argentina, Bolivia, New Zealand, Brazil, Japan, South Korea, and South Africa.

Belgium also showed interest in hosting the event but later dropped out. Later, New Zealand & Australia reported they would combine their bids in a combined offer.

By December 13, 2019, Colombia, Brazil, and Japan submitted their bid offers to FIFA. In June 2020, Japan & Brazil dropped their bids before the final vote.

Host Country Selection

New Zealand & Australia got the right to host the Women’s World Cup on June 25, 2020. Following an election by the FIFA Council, New Zealand  & Australia received 22 votes, while Colombia received 13.

Bidding Countries Votes
Australia & New Zealand 22
Colombia 13
Recused 2
Total Votes 35
Majority Need 18

Also Read: FIFA Women’s World Cup Hosts List

Host Cities and Stadiums

Host Cities

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup will be hosted across several cities in the chosen country. These cities will serve as vibrant hubs for football fans, players, and officials. There are 5 cities picked from Australia and 4 cities from New Zealand.

Australia Cities  New Zealand Cities
Perth Dunedin
Sydney Hamilton
Brisbane Auckland
Adelaide Wellington


The Women’s World Cup stadium selection ensures a successful and immersive tournament experience. The chosen stadiums must meet FIFA’s capacity, infrastructure, safety, and fan amenities standards. Six selected venues from Australia and four from New Zealand for the tournament.

Preparation and Infrastructure

Facilities and Accommodations

The host country must ensure the availability of training grounds, team accommodations, medical facilities, and media centers to support the tournament’s smooth operation. The host country aims to create a conducive environment for the teams, officials, and supporters by providing top-notch amenities.

Transport and Logistics

Efficient transport and logistics are essential to the success of the contest. The host country must establish reliable transportation networks to facilitate the movement of teams, officials, and fans between host cities and stadiums.

Security Measures

The host country collaborates with law enforcement agencies and event security experts to develop complete security plans. These plans encompass crowd management, emergency response protocols, and measures to mitigate potential threats, ensuring a secure environment throughout the tournament.

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply