All BBL Teams – Big Bash League

BBL Teams List

The BBL is a domestic Twenty 20 cricket franchise league held in Australia. The BBL is run by Cricket Australia and debuted in 2011.

The BBL’s main sponsor is the American fast-food restaurant chain KFC. The tournament is also known as KFC BBL. The BBL is played in December, January, and February each year.

A total of 8 BBL teams played, like the IPL. The six Australian cities these teams represent are Adelaide, Melbourne, Perth, Brisbane, Sydney, and Hobart.

The regions of Sydney and Melbourne are each sponsored by a dedicated team. The Sydney Sixers team won the first BBL season in 2011. Perth Scorchers were defeated by Sydney Sixers in the tournament final match.

All BBL Teams List 2023-24

As noted in the section above, eight teams make up the BBL. These teams represent six Australian regions. The eight teams that compete in the Big Bash League are listed below:

  • Sydney Thunders
  • Sydney Sixers
  • Perth Scorchers
  • Melbourne Stars
  • Melbourne Renegades
  • Hobart Hurricanes
  • Brisbane Heat
  • Adelaide Strikers

Sydney Thunders

Sydney Thunder is a cricket team in Australia’s domestic T20 cricket league named Big Bash League. The Thunder are the substitute team for the New South Wales Blues, who compete in the old T20 Big Bash of KFC.

Sydney Showground Stadium serves as the team’s home field. The 2015 champion of the BBL is Sydney Thunder. Another group that plays for Sydney is the Sydney Thunder. Usman Khawaja is the team’s captain, and Trevor Bayliss is the head coach.

Sydney Sixers

The Sydney Sixers are a male cricket team representing Australia in the BBL, a domestic T20 cricket league. The Sixers are the new team for the New South Wales Blues, who contested in the previous KFC T20 Big Bash.

While the Thunder plays at Sydney Showground Stadium farther west, they play at Sydney Cricket Ground in the southern part of the city. Sydney Sixers has three tournament victories in the Big Bash League. In 2011, 2019, & 2020, it won the BBL. The team’s captain is Moises Henriques, while Greg Shipperd is the coach.

Perth Scorchers

The Perth Scorchers are a local T20 cricket team from Australia that competes in the Big Bash League on behalf of Perth, a city in Western Australia. The team’s coach is Adam Voges, while Mitchell Marsh is the team’s current captain.

After defeating the Sydney Sixers in the 2021-22 season’s event final game, the Scorchers are currently the BBL Champions. They are the most successful team in BBL history, with four titles won to date and three runner-up finishes.

Melbourne Stars

The Melbourne Stars is a cricket team that plays in the BBL, which is an Australian T20 league, and this team is based in Melbourne, Victoria. The team’s captain is Glenn Maxwell, while David Hussey is their coach. Melbourne Stars hasn’t won a Big Bash League championship yet.

The Melbourne Cricket Ground is the home venue for the Stars, who have a green outfit. Glenn Maxwell scored 154* against the Hobart Hurricanes at the MCG, making it the highest individual score in BBL history.

Melbourne Renegades

Melbourne, the state capital of Victoria, is the home venue to the Melbourne Renegades, an Australian men’s T20 cricket club. They participate in the Big Bash League. David Saker is the team’s head coach, and Nic Maddinson is captain.

Hobart Hurricanes

A men’s T20 cricket team from Australia that played in the Big Bash League, the headquarters of Hobart Hurricanes in Tasmania.

The University of Tasmania Stadium in Launceston hosts some of the Hurricanes’ home games, but Blundstone Arena hosts most. The Hurricanes are dressed in purple cricket jerseys.

Brisbane Heat

The Brisbane Heat is a Big Bash League participant and an Australian men’s T20 cricket team. The Heat is a Brisbane-based group from Queensland, Australia, and members sport a teal outfit.

Their home ground is the Brisbane Cricket Ground or The Gabba. They started winning the BBL in their second season, qualifying them for the Champions League T20.

Adelaide Strikers

The Adelaide Strikers are a Big Bash League cricket team from Adelaide, South Australia. They play on the Adelaide Oval, which performs as their home field and wears cornflower blue jerseys.

The Southern Redbacks, who participated in the defunct KFC T20 Big Bash tournament, were replaced by the Strikers in 2011 and joined the BBL. Their lone BBL victory came in the 2017-18 BBL season.

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply