T20 World CupCricket

T20 World Cup 2024 Qualified Teams | Confirmed

T20 World Cup 2024 Qualified Teams

England won the World Cup 2022 and was crowned the new champion of national cricket’s most miniature format. The tournament will now be held in 2024, and ICC has begun planning its organization. The World Cup of 2024 will probably feature more teams due to the vast global fan base that cricket now has.

Considering that the ICC and the United States have a contract agreement, they will co-host the matches with the West Indies. Here is all the information about the T20 World Cup 2024 Qualified Teams and how other groups can participate in the primary competition.

List of T20 World Cup 2024 Qualified Teams

  • India
  • Sri Lanka
  • South Africa
  • England
  • Australia
  • Netherlands
  • Pakistan
  • New Zealand
  • United States – hosts
  • West Indies – co-hosts

The world cup in 2024 will have 20 countries competing for the trophy, according to the cricket governing body, the ICC. The criteria for the teams to enter the international format depend on their worldwide rating.

Check This: T20 World Cup Winners List

Host Qualification

The United States and the West Indies will jointly host the competition. They are automatically qualified as a result.

Direct Qualification

The official report says the top 8 teams from the 2022 tournament will qualify for the next world cup, including the host. But neither host has managed to finish the competition under 10. Thus, two additional teams in the international rankings earned a spot in the games.

The current World T20 champion England, second-placed Pakistan, Sri Lanka, India, South Africa, New Zealand, Netherlands, Australia, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh are now part of the squads.

Qualification Round

The qualifying phase will fill the other eight places for the T20 World Cup 2024. Teams from the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia, and East Asia-Pacific will play to fill the final eight slots. They have the following slots left.

Regions Teams
America  1
East Asia-Pacific 1
Asia 2
Europe 2
Africa 2

Sixty-six teams are fighting for eight places, including 9 from Asia, 8 from the Americas, 14 from Africa, 7 from the EAP, and 28 from Europe.

Romania, Serbia, and Hungary will make their debuts during pathway events. Finally, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales will all try to secure a place in the competition through the local qualifying rounds.


Twenty squads will fight for the championship and be split into four groups of 5 teams. After the inter-group matches, the two teams from every group will move on to the super eight.

Before the knockout phase, the 8 teams will play in two groups. The top two teams from each group advance to the semifinals, where the victors will play for the trophy in the title game.

Who Hosted the T20 World Cup 2024?

The USA and the West Indies will co-host the 2024 World Cup. There will be 55 games played during the event, which is scheduled to take place in June 2024. According to sources, about one-third of the games will be played in the U.s, with the remaining in the West Indies.

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply