RecordsCricketT20 World Cup

Most Run In One Over in T20 World Cup

Most Run In One Over in T20 World Cup

In this format, batters are free to play their shots directly from the ball. However, it is very difficult for any bowler to prevent the batsman from getting free runs due to the narrow boundaries and field limits. The batter may usually attack the bowling strongly due to the circumstance.

The bowler is under a lot of pressure as a result, and more runs are given up than usual. Every bowler, though, has experienced a challenging time in their career. Additionally, bad days will always occur when nothing goes your way, and you receive a lot of runs.

Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh was the only player in the history of the ICC T20 World Cup to hit six sixes in a single over. During the 2007 ICC T20 World Cup, he got that feat while competing against the England cricket team. Yuvraj crushed Stuart Broad and hit sixes off every ball he bowled in one over after clashing with Andrew Flintoff.

Jonny Bairstow & Luke Wright

The sixth match of the 2012 T20 World Cup between England and Afghanistan occurred in Colombo. When England won the toss, they decided to bat first. The English squad got off to a strong start; scoring runs quickly in their top order. 

Izatullah Dawlatzai entered the field to bowl the game’s 19th over. Buttler hit a four to start the over, but he was out on the very next ball, bringing Bairstow to the crease. Bairstow then crushed the subsequent ball, a no-ball, to six.

The next pitch from Dawlatzai was another no-ball, and Bairstow took a single to bring Luke Wright to the crease. The batter then hit three consecutive sixes off the following three balls, bringing the total up to 31 runs. However, the next ball was singled, and the over was declared to have scored 32 runs. This was the second most expensive over-bowled in the T20I World Cup.

List of Most Run in one Over In T20 World Cup

Batter Runs Bowler Against Year
Yuvraj Singh (India) 36 Stuart Broad England 2007
Jonny Bairstow, Luke Wright 32 Izatullah Dawlatzai Afghanistan 2012
Glenn Maxwell, Aaron Finch 30 Bilawal Bhatti Pakistan 2014
Jehan Mubarak 29 Lameck Onyango Kenya 2007
AB de Villiers 29 Rashid Khan Afghanistan 2016
David Hussey  27 Mohammad Sami Pakistan 2010
Eoin Morgan, Luke Wright 27 Ravi Rampaul West Indies 2010
AB de Villiers, David Miller   26 Jade Dernbach England 2014
Chris Gayle 26 Brett Lee Australia 2009
Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply