SquadsFIFA World CupFootball

England FIFA World Cup 2022 Squad Has Been Confirmed

England FIFA World Cup 2022 Squad

By October 20, 2022, Gareth Southgate is scheduled to reveal his final England FIFA World Cup 2022 Squad. The World Cup 2018 in Russia saw them get to the semifinals, and he wants to build on that success while improving upon it. The squad won the title once, in 1966, after defeating West Germany by a score of (4-2) thanks to two goals by Geoff Hurst.

Ollie Watkins gets chosen for the England team to play in the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers. Sam Johnstone is a younger player who played for England and won at the under-16 to under-20 levels.

Gareth Southgate must make essential selections for the England team before the competition starts. However, including the skill at his disposal ensures that any team he chooses will face criticism.

England FIFA World Cup 2022 Squad

For Southgate, who must choose players based on their current form or stick with those who did well in the previous two big tournaments, problems must be resolved.

Three players who were a member of the England Euro 2021 squad—Harry Maguire, Tret Alexander Arnold, Jadon Sancho, and Mason Mount—might not be present owing to their bad performances. However, even if the players’ club performances declined, Southgate remained devoted to them.

Players Position Club
 Declan Rice  Midfielder West ham United
Aaron Ramsdale Goalkeeper Arsenal
Ben Chilwell Defender Chelsea
Bukayo Saka Winger Arsenal
Conor Coady Defender Wolverhampton
Dean Henderson Goalkeeper Man United
Fikayo Tomori Defender AC Milan
Harry Kane Forward Tottenham Hotspur
Harry Maguire Defender Man United
Jack Grealish Forward Man City
Jadon Sancho Forward Man United
John Stones Defender Man City
Jordan Henderson Midfielder Liverpool
Jordan Pickford Goalkeeper Everton
Jude Bellingham Midfielder Borussia Dortmund
Kyle Walker Defender Man City
Luke Shaw Defender Man United
Mason Mount Midfielder Chelsea
Phil Foden Forward Man City
Raheem Sterling Forward Man City
Reece James Defender Chelsea
Tammy Abraham Forward AS Roma
Trent Alexander-Arnold Defender Liverpool

England FIFA World Cup 2018 Squad

Position Players
Coach Gareth Southgate
Captain Harry Kane
Forwards Harry Kane, Raheem Sterling, Marcus Rashford, Jamie Vardy, Danny Welbeck.
Midfielders Loftus-Cheek, Eric Dier, Jesse Lingard, Dele Alli, Ruben, Jordan Henderson. 
Defenders Trent Alexander-Arnold, Kyle Walker, Danny Rose, John Stones, Harry Maguire, Gary Cahill, Phil Jones, Kieran Trippier, Fabian Delph, Ashley Young.
Goalkeeper Nick Pope, Jack Butland, Jordan Pickford

England FIFA World Cup 2022 Matches

Date Match Venue
21 Nov-2023  Iran vs. England  Khalifa International Venue
25 Nov-2023 USA vs. England  Al Bayt Venue
29 Nov-2023 Wales vs. England  Ahmed bin Ali Venue

Players to Watch

In the team for Euro 2020, Bukayo Saka dazzled everyone with his skill and refined mannerisms. But, Southgate recognizes his potential and will select him for the final 23 team members even though his missed penalty lost England the Euro.

Jude Bellingham has made a total of 12 appearances for England. However, Bellingham is now playing with maturity, as seen by his twelve national caps, which include time spent playing at the Euro.

England Team Coach

Gareth Southgate is praised for his technical style of play and for leading the  England squad to two consecutive FIFA cup victories in the previous four years.

There is nothing wrong with stating that Southgate is the manager who burns the brightest. Since 2016, he has served as the England national team’s manager.

Southgate became the third coach to lead the England squad to a World Cup semifinal in his first tournament as England manager, the 2018 FIFA World Cup, earning him the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Coach Award.

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply