SquadsCricketT20 World Cup

South Africa T20 World Cup Squad 2022 Announced

South Africa T20 World Cup Squad 2022 Announced

On Tuesday 8 September 2022 South African Cricket Board announced their Upcoming T20 World Cup Squad in Australia. African Cricket Board take a few big decisions.

Proteas Cricket T20 Skipper Temba Bavuma makes his comeback after recovering from his elbow injury. Now he is ready to lead his nation in one more T20 World Cup.

South African currently backbone in middle order Rassie van der Dussen is not mentioned in World Cup Squad because of his Injury. Rassie’s Index finger was injured during the Test series in England at Manchester. And after that, he was under examination by doctors and is not playing Cricket for the last 6 weeks.

While Selectors picked Tristan Stubbs for the World Cup as he impress the selectors with his excellent performance vs England in the T20 series and which was his first series.

The Cricket of South Africa’s Selection head thinks that Stubbs’s selection in the T20 tournament is motivational for all new talented players.

South Africa’s main players Quinton de Kock, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, and David Miller are also joining the World Cup campaign in Australia. 

Proteas Pace Atack is under Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje and Lungi Ngidi, and Wayne Parnell. While their Spin department is handled by Tabraiz Shamsi.

The comebacks made except for the captain are of Top order batsman Rilee Rossouw and All-rounder Wayne Parnell. Rossouw make pressure on the selection committee after his incredible performance against England in the T20 series.

South Africa T20 World Cup Squad

Quinton de Kock, Temba Bavuma (c), Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Marco Jansen, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Rillee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

Their Reserve Players are; Bjorn Fortuin, Lizaad Williams, and Andile Phehlukwayo.

South Africa World Cup Matches

Match Date Stadium Time(AST)
South Africa vs Zimbabwe 24-Oct Blundstone Arena  7:00 PM
South Africa vs Bangladesh 27-Oct Sydney Cricket Ground 2:00 PM
South Africa vs India 30-Oct Perth Stadium 7:00 PM
South Africa vs Pakistan 3-Nov Sydney Cricket Ground 7:00 PM
South Africa vs Netherland 6-Nov Adelaide Oval 10:30 AM

Leave a Reply