Sri Lanka Has to Pass a Tough Test to Win Asia Cup 2022

Sri Lanka Has to Pass a Tough Test to Win Asia Cup

The Asia Cup 2022, which begins tomorrow in the UAE, will be the most formidable challenge for captain Dasun Shanaka and his ebullient young squad to overcome. Despite being moved by the Asian Cricket Council owing to worries over the ongoing economic crisis, Sri Lanka continues to serve as the region’s prominent tournament host. The last time Sri Lanka won the title was in 2014 when they defeated Pakistan at home by a margin of five wickets.

In that surge, Shanaka, a pinch-hitting all-rounder, will have the difficult challenge of leading number three ranked Sri Lanka past number-one favorites and defending champions India. Pakistan is listed as third. Since the first competition in 1984, Sri Lanka has won the trophy five times.

In the six-nation competition, which also includes Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Hong Kong, the Lankans, who have a highly fired-up cast led by some dynamic playmakers, will be taking a shot for the high roaring stakes US $ 200,000 prize money allure for the jackpot.

Sri Lanka won the Asia Cup trophy five times in 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, and 2014.

Sri Lanka has been placed in Group B with Bangladesh and Afghanistan, who they will play tomorrow in Dubai. The team is encouraged by a few successful campaigns. The hard-hitting 25-year-old Charith Asalanka was promoted to vice-captaincy after outstanding efforts at the Test and One-Day levels.

Leg-spin all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga, renowned for his stylish stroke making down the order, also packs a powerful punch. The team has been bolstered by the return of former skipper Dinesh Chandimal to quick cricket’s popular T20 format after some excellent batting displays after a long break.

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply