FIFA World CupFootball

FIFA World Cup Man of The Match Winners List

FIFA World Cup Man Of The Match Winners 2022

FIFA provides many prizes at the end of the tournament. The man of the Match award was first time given in 2002, This award is provided at the end of every match.

Creation of the World Cup Man of the Match Award

FIFA aimed to start generating more interest for each game and giving more accolades. From 2002 to 2006 the man of the match winner has selected by the FIFA Team Expert. The Man of the Match is currently picked via an online vote displayed on FIFA’s site for each game as part of FIFA’s 2010 decision to include fans more in the contests.

FIFA World Cup Man of the Match Winners List

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are equal for most Man of the Match winners, along with Arjen Robben of the Netherlands.

Man of the Match Award Winners in Single World Cup

In Single World Cup, Messi earned four Man of the Match accolades in the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, while Wesley Sneijder won four at the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.

Player Wins Year
Rivaldo 3 2002
Andrea Pirlo 3 2006
Wesley Sneijder 4 2010
Lionel Messi 4 2014
Antoine Griezmann 3 2018
Lionel Messi
7 2022

Man of the Match Award Winners By Player

Player Wins Year Team
Arjen Robben 6 2006, 2010, 2014 Netherlands
Cristiano Ronaldo 6 2010, 2014, 2018 Portugal
Lionel Messi 6 2010, 2014, 2018 Argentina
Luis Suárez 5 2010, 2014, 2018 Uruguay
Eden Hazard 4 2014, 2018 Belgium
Keisuke Honda 4 2010, 2014 Japan
James Rodríguez 4 2014, 2018 Colombia
Miroslav Klose 4 2002, 2006 Germany
Park Ji-sung 4 2002, 2006, 2010 South Korea
Thomas Müller 4 2010, 2014 Germany
Wesley Sneijder 4 2010 Netherlands
Lionel Messi 7 2022 Argentina

Man of the Match Winners By Nation

When we talk about which nation won the most time MOM Awards in the world cup. Brazil and Germany have won the 22 times man of the match award in the FIFA world cup.

Nations Wins
Brazil 22
Germany 22
Argentina 22
France 17
Spain 16
England 14
Mexico 12
Netherlands 12
South Korea 11
Portugal 11
United States 11

You Also Like: the FIFA World Cup Goal of the Tournament Winners List

Aqeel Ahmad
the authorAqeel Ahmad
Aqeel Ahmad is a passionate sports fan who enjoys reading and writing about the most recent sporting events taking place all around the world.

Leave a Reply